Alaska Registration

An Alaska vehicle registration has three options:

  • Register at a local AK DMV
  • Mail in the registration (if you live more than 50 miles away from a DMV)
  • Drive for up to 60-days if you have an out-of-state registration

Residents are advised to register their vehicle within 30 days of the vehicle’s purchase. Most registrations take place within 10 days of residency if you’re moving to the state. Neither option lets you request your title through the mail so be prepared to take a trip to your local DMV.

Worth noting, too, is that anyone over 65 and/or disabled can apply for permanent registration.

You will register your vehicle at an Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (AK DMV) office. Failing to register on-time can result in potential issues if your driving privileges.

We’ve outlined the Alaska registration process, keeping it as easy-as-possible.

Your Alaska Vehicle Registration Guide: Step-by-Step

Getting your vehicle on the road in Alaska doesn’t take long if you have everything ready. The trip to your AK DMV office should take less than an hour (give or take). Also, because people come-and-go, you may request a fee refund using the Customer Refund Request if you leave before the title expires.

Sound good? Let’s get your vehicle on paper with the Alaska DMV.

Registering a Vehicle from Private Parties

To register your vehicle’s title/registration in Alaska you will:

  1. Visit your local AK DMV office
  2. File the Application for Title & Registration (Form 812)
  3. Submit the signed title and registration
  4. Submit any applicable items:
    1. Odometer statement
    2. Power of attorney
    3. Lien release
  5. Submit the VIN inspection
  6. Pay your registration fees and taxes

You’ll receive your registration documents and be on your way.

Congratulations, you’ve completed the vehicle registration process in Alaska! Make sure to get Alaska auto insurance before getting on the road else you can face serious fines and penalties!

Do you live in remote locations and are too far away from the DMV?

Living more than 50 miles away from a DMV location lets you register by mail. This involves the same steps, paperwork, and fees as you’d do so in-person.

You will mail this information to:

State of Alaska

Division of Motor Vehicles

Attn: Correspondence

1300 W. Benson Blvd

Anchorage, AK 99503

You should receive your registration documents not long after it’s processed.

Are you bringing a car from out-of-state?

You can legally drive the out-of-state vehicle up to 60 days without registering it with the state given it’s registered in the state you came from. Otherwise, you’ll need to submit your vehicle’s title, file the Form 812, submit a VIN inspection and notarized power of attorney (if applicable), and pay your fees.

Registering a Vehicle from Dealerships

Alaska car dealers typically submit the registration paperwork on your behalf. If they don’t, you can take the vehicle’s information (along with yours) to a DMV to get it registered.

You will:

  1. Submit Form 812
  2. Submit the vehicle’s information:
    1. Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin, or
    2. The vehicle’s title
  3. Submit the VIN inspection (if required)
  4. Pay your registration and title fees

Ask before you buy to save yourself some trouble but do know this option is available.

Alaska Vehicle Registration Fees

Your typical fees when registering in Alaska include:

  • Passenger cars: $100
  • Van/truck (under 10,000lbs): $100
  • Title (if applicable): $15
  • Plate transfer: $5
  • Duplicate title: $15

A Motor Vehicle Registration Tax may also apply depending on your location. Those disabled or a disabled veteran will have their registration and tax waived. And, anyone 65+ and/or disabled can apply for permanent stickers/tabs if they desire.

Set a Reminder for Vehicle’s Registration Renewal

Make sure to note how long you’re registering the vehicle and the day. You won’t want to forget renewing when it comes around else you could face fines!