Alaska License Renewal
The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles oversees the license renewal process.
You may choose to renew or get an extension.
Your Alaska license is good for 5 years. When it comes the time, you can renew the license in-person, online, or by mail. You must renew your license within 1 year of its expiration else face penalties and extra requirements when getting your license valid again.
Note: You can only process a license renewal in-person if you require a name change.
You can check your license validity and expiration date by requesting driving records. Otherwise, take note of its expiration on the card or if you’ve marked it on the calendar.
You are expected to pass an Alcohol Awareness Test after turning 21 years old. This is part of the licensing program – and a requirement to renew your license in Alaska.
The following sections share the step-by-step process to renew your AK driver’s license.
How to Renew Your AK Driver’s License
A valid AK driver’s license is required if you drive on state roads and highways. Alaska auto insurance is a requirement, too, if you plan to operate your vehicle. The renewal process doesn’t take long if you have documents ready and follow the steps below.
Here is what all you need to renew your Alaska driver’s license in-person:
- Find an AK DMV office
- Show your AK driver’s license
- File the Application for Alaska Driver License, Permit or Identification Card (Form 478)
- Show (2) proofs of ID
- Pass a vision test (if required)
- Update your name (if needed)
- Pay the $20 renewal fee
- Get your photo taken
- Receive your new license
Congratulations! You’ve successfully renewed your Alaska driver’s license. You’ll receive your new license and be on your way unless the DMV needs to send it you by mail (which may take a few weeks).
Online renewals are available to those:
- Between 21 and 68 years old with a valid, non-commercial license
- Completed their last renewal in person
- Hasn’t changed their name on file
Note: Those under 21 years old can do an online renewal if they passed an Alcohol Awareness Test.
You will do the following to renew your license online:
- Visit the Alaska DMV portal
- Establish your identity:
- License # or ID card #
- Social Security Number
- Full Legal Name
- Follow the on-screen prompts
- Pay the $21 renewal fee
- Print the copy of your renewed card
The renewed card acts as a temporary license until you receive the permanent one by mail.
If you can’t renew in person or online, a mail-in option is available by doing the following:
- Contacting the DMV
- Requesting mail-in renewal information
- Filing the paperwork
- Sending the paperwork and a $21 payment
You cannot do a mail-in if you’re under 22 years old or have renewed by mail the previous time. Your information needs to be current and correct, too. You’ll receive your new license within a few weeks.
Out-of-State and Military Members
Military members or their spouse/dependent can file an extension for up to 90 days after the discharge. They will they file a Military Expiration Endorsement. Otherwise, it’s recommended the military members renew their license online or by mail (contact to understand your specific requirements).
Out of state residents can file a Request for a Temporary License or an Extension (Form 481), provide their personal information, and pay a $5 fee for a 1-year extension. A temporary license is available – by request – if you’re NOT within 30 days of its expiration. You may request one by filing the Request of Out-of-State Temporary License (Form 481).
Submit a request to:
Division of Motor Vehicles
Juneau Driver Licensing
P.O. Box 110221
Juneau, AK 99811
- Fax: 907-465-5509
- Email: [email protected]
Become a Better Alaska Driver
Looking for more information and guides to become a better Alaska driver? Check out our AK DMV topics, browse our DMV directory, or get active in the community! We offer a wide range of helpful guides and tips to improve your driving experience.