Alaska Car Insurance Minimums, Laws, and Quotes
All Alaska drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind the wheel unless they show fiscal responsibility. Insurance not only protects you when driving but others on the road. After all, you never know if an accident may happen!
The state requires 50/100/25 coverage.
This article shares what those insurance minimums are that you must carry. And, the repercussions of not having it. And, provides AK insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in Alaska.
The Alaska Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums
Alaska requires the following required auto insurance coverage:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $50,000 per person / $100,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $50,000 per person / $100,000 per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage: $25,000 (if applicable)
Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Alaska
The state of Alaska has variable penalties if you’re found driving without insurance. This could include a hefty fine to jail time. A possible license and registration suspension may happen, too!
Typical penalties for driving in Alaska without insurance include:
- A flat $500 for each offense
- An automatic 90 days (1st offense) to 3 years (if you caused an accident)
- Possible license suspension (1st) offense and 1 year (2nd and beyond)
- Required SR22 insurance (for each offense)
- Higher insurance premiums
- Registration reinstatement costs
You may receive these penalties when being stopped or through the state’s electronic monitoring. Failing to provide proof of insurance will result in an offense as it is a requirement in the state.
Being unable to provide proof of insurance when pulled over will result in a $500 fine. You may also lose your license depending on your actions. Future offenses carry another $500 fine and license suspension, usually, up to 1 year or more.
If you cause an accident without proof of insurance and are found at fault, you will face fines, lose your driving privileges (possibly up to 3 years or more), and other financial woes. You may shorten the suspension by covering damages though you may need SR-22 insurance afterward for some time.
Compare Quotes for Alaska Insurance Policies
Whether you just moved to Alaska or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind the wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.
Looking for a new Alaska auto insurance policy? Check your local providers or use comparison shopping tools to get quotes from several parties.