Arizona Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes

Drivers License
Reading Time: 2 minutes

All Arizona drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind the wheel.

This article shares what insurance minimums you must carry. The article also covers the repercussions of not having it. And, provides AZ insurance quotes if you’re currently shopping for coverage in Arizona.

The Arizona Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums

Arizona requires the following minimum auto insurance coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $10,000
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident

Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.

Note: You may also offer a certificate of deposit of $40,000 to the Arizona State Treasurer. You may choose optional insurance coverage, too.

What are the Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Arizona?

Driving without insurance is a serious offense in the state of Arizona.

The fines and penalties depend on your actions when behind the wheel. This includes minor fines for the first offense to serious repercussions like if you cause a major accident.

For example:

  • Driving without Insurance: You may face a $500 fine, 3-month suspension, and need for SR22 insurance for the first offense. This can increase to $750 to $1000, 6mo to 1yr, and SR22 insurance for the second and third offenses.
  • Accidents (Not at Fault): If you cause an accident and don’t have insurance you can expect your license to get suspended or revoked regardless of who caused it. Reinstating a suspended license is a tiresome and costly process. Your vehicle may be impounded, too, causing more fees.
  • Accidents (At Fault): Those causing an accident will see the same repercussions noted in the ‘not at fault bullet point plus costs the person’s medical bills and vehicle costs. You may also be at fault for property damage (private and public).

Fines and penalties can go as far as causing jail time and losing your home. This isn’t worth risking!

Compare Arizona Insurance Rates

Whether you just moved to Arizona or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind the wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.

Your intent may be finding cheap Arizona auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many AZ car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums – this also applies to good students!