Arizona DMV Point System: What is It? How does it Work?
Driving is a privilege so if you break state and local driving laws you can expect fines and penalties. The Arizona DMV points system is fair and flexible accounting for first-time offenses. Habitual offenders can expect the full extent of the law with variable repercussions.
This article covers:
- How the system works
- Violations and penalties
- Removing points from records
- Point system FAQs
Practice safe driving and you may never experience a ticket or violation (not counting accidents). Let’s look at the various violations and safety information you’ll want to know about the AZ points system.
How the Arizona Points System Works
Points apply if you’re at fault of a moving violation, non-moving violation, cell phone violations, and many other infractions. These can include instances like speeding, texting while driving, and scale up to major incidents like causing accidents or driving under the influence.
The purpose of the points systems is monitoring safe driving in the state of Arizona. Tickets and other infractions are assigned points. The AV MVD keeps a record of all convictions and accidents.
Repeated violations can lead to a license suspension or revocation. You’ll begin experiencing negative effects – like a suspension – if you accumulate too many points:
- 8 to 12 points in 1-year: 3-month suspension or traffic school
- 13 to 17 points in 1-year: 3-month suspension
- 18 to 23 points in 1-year: 6-month suspension
- 24 or more in 3-years: 12-month suspension
Getting these many points in the short period of time makes you a negligent operator usually resulting in a suspended license. At this point, you’ll need to go through a license reinstatement.
You will experience automatic suspensions from items like driving without insurance, DUI, refusing a field test, or failing to appear in court for violations. Teen and CDL drivers face harsher penalties.
AZ Driver Point Violations and Penalties
The severity of your moving and non-moving violations dictates how many points you’ll receive. Those navigating a commercial vehicle can expect an increase for each point due to your responsibilities.
Points assessment examples:
- DUI: 8 points
- Reckless driving: 8 points
- Leaving the scene of an accident: 6 points
- Hit-and-run: 6 points
- Failing to stop for a traffic signal, stop sign, or yield right of way (causing death): 6 points
- Failing to stop for a traffic signal, stop sign, or yield right of way (serious pain): 4 points
- Speeding: 3 points
- Driving over or parking in gore area: 3 points
- All other violations: 2 points
As you can see, many violations can result in a suspended or revoked license. Points may stack depending on the severity of your actions.
How to Remove Points from an Arizona Driving Record
You will first want to check how man points are on your Arizona license before you go about learning how to remove them. You may request AZ driving records which detail the status of your license and any associated points you’ve gained from tickets and other incidents.
Once you have information about your driving records – you will:
- Meet the criminal court requirements
- Wait out the duration of the suspension or revocation
- Submit clearance documents and pass any tests
- Submit proof of SR22 auto insurance
- Pay a $20 reinstatement and application fee
Most point infractions drop off after a few years. DUI/DWI and harsher infractions may stay on your record for an extended period.
You can attempt a defensive driving school to dismiss minor AZ traffic tickets, so they don’t appear on your record. This depends if you accept the minor ticket, not a commercial driver, and haven’t attended a course within the last year.