Arizona Traffic Ticket Fines, Violations, and Penalties
Arizona traffic tickets will vary in fines and penalties depending on your actions and location. It may come as a shock when you receive a ticket or are rightfully justified because of improper driving. All the details of your traffic fine will show on the ticket – giving you a better understanding of how and why you got it.
Arizona’s Point System and Traffic Fines
Arizona has an extensive points system incurring 2 to 8 points per offense. This typically involves minor traffic infractions like illegal passing or failed tail lights.
Offenses like speeding, reckless driving, and driving under the influence can cause 6 to 8 points on your record. These serious infractions often lead to a suspension or revocation.
Note that you may have your license suspended if you get too many points within a period:
- 8 to 12 points in 1 year: 3-month suspension or traffic school
- 13 to 17 points in 1-year: 3-month suspension
- 18 to 23 points in 1-year: 6-month suspension
- 24 or more in 3 years: 12-month suspension
Instant suspensions and revocations happen for DUI convictions, transporting explosives or a firearm, or running from an officer. Anyone with a CDL will face similar but harsher fines and fees. Plus, it’s very likely auto insurance rates will increase because of these incidents.
The obvious solution is practicing safe and defensive driving. Yet, we all make mistakes, and sometimes we have a momentary lapse in reason.
You may choose to plead guilty to the ticket, incurring a fine and points on your record. Or, fight the ticket and go to trial on your own or with the help of a traffic attorney. This choice is up to you and it’s better done after you understand why you received the penalties.
Below, you’ll find an overview of Arizona tickets, point systems, fines, and what you can do when paying your fees or satisfying your license penalties.
Speeding Ticket Costs in Arizona
A speeding ticket varies by how fast you’re going and the county you’re in.
Here are the typical fees for the different degrees of speeding violations:
- 1 – 10 miles over the limit: $130
- 11 – 15 miles over the limit: $180
- 16 – 20 miles over the limit: $280
- 21 – 25 miles over the limit: $380
- 26 – 30 miles over the limit: $485
Some counties charge by the mile over the limit. Others calculate speeding tickets up to 60+ miles over the limit. It’s uncommon but some speeders can face tickets of nearly $1000!
But, also remember you will have a surcharge and many other associated fees. Fines compound on the base fine. Your basic ticket could become hundreds of dollars!
You may also need to take a driving school and pay higher premiums on your insurance. So, do your best at staying at or below the speed limit! Leave early so you’re not rushing and speeding to get there – it’s better to take your time than face the fines.
Other Types of Moving and Non-Moving Violations
You may also incur ticketing for:
- Driving without a seatbelt
- Driving while texting
- Illegal turning
- Child seat violations
- Hit and run
- Illegal U-turns
- Driving without a license
Each of these is associated with infractions, misdemeanors, or felony violations. They have variable repercussions depending if you’re a first-time or repeat offender. Expect to pay big if you do several of these violations in one go!
Fighting a Traffic Ticket
Consider hiring an Arizona traffic attorney to fight on your behalf if you feel the ticket issued was not justified. Else, own up to your infraction, pay your fine, and do your best not to incur more points on your driving record.
Paying a Traffic Ticket
You can pay your Arizona traffic tickets online, by mail, in person, or over the phone. Visit the ServiceArizona website for more details. Or, get in touch with an AZ MVD office (click to find an office near you) to talk with a clerk about your options moving forward.