How to Renew Your Car Registration in Arkansas
The Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicles oversees your vehicle’s registration renewal.
You’ll need to complete a renewal to continue (legally) driving. Your expiration depends on when you registered and is noted on the registration documents.
You should receive a renewal notice from the AR DMV before your vehicle’s expiration. Or, can check with your local DMV for registry details or by visiting their website. This notice shares the renewal date and fees, plus restrictions & requirements when renewing.
You can renew your vehicle’s registration:
- By Mail
- By Phone
Failing to renew your car’s registration can result in penalties. Given your license isn’t suspended or you have other restrictions from completing it – use the sections below to complete the renewal steps.
Arkansas Registration Renewal: Step-by-Step
Below, you’ll learn how to process the Arkansas car registration renewal. Each method shouldn’t take long if you have documents ready and meet all requirements. Out-of-state Arkansas residents can use the same renewal methods detailed below.
You cannot renew online or by phone if you owe taxes unless you do an assessment (call 888-389-8336). Likewise, you’ll need to show proof of paying your property tax after the assessment to renew by mail or in person at an office.
You can renew your vehicle’s registration at a DMV/state revenue office.
Here is what you’ll do when renewing in person:
- Present your AR driver’s license
- Show your registration renewal notice
- Pay the renewal fees
The DMV workers will find your information in their database to process the renewal. You may bring registration documents with you in case you feel they’re needed.
Those eligible to renew online will see a special code on their notice. However, you can still renew online if you do not have this code by looking up your information within the system.
Here is how to renew your Arkansas car registration online:
- Visit the ARSTAR website
- Enter your information:
- The renewal ID number and verification code, or
- Last 4-digits of the VIN, license plate #, and zip code
- Follow the on-screen prompts
- Pay the registration renewal fee(s)
You should receive your certificate and detail by mail in a short while.
Renewing by Mail
Mail-in renewal is slower but provides a good alternative if you can’t get online. Or if you rather avoid going to a DMV location. The process is basically the same as renewing in person.
- Gather your renewal notice
- Include a check or money order for fees
Mail your information to the address below:
Office of Motor Vehicle
P.O. Box 3153
Little Rock, AR 72203
You should receive your new documents in a week or two, depending on when it’s processed.
Renewing by Phone
Phone renewals, given you pass the requirements, are as follows:
- Call 800-941-2580
- File your vehicle information
- Pay the renewal fee(s)
You should receive your new information in about a week’s time.
Arkansas Registration Renewal Fees and Taxes
Renewal fees and taxes are the same as its registration – and depend on the following:
- Vehicle weight and type
- Needed title and plate type
- City/county taxes
Usual Arkansas registration fees include the following:
- Passenger cars & motorhomes:
- Under 3,000lbs: $17
- 3,001 to 4,500lbs: $25
- 4,501lbs and over: $30
- Trucks & vans: $21
- Motorcycles: $3 (less than 250cc), $7 (more than 250cc)
Taxes are typically 6.5% of the vehicle price of $4,000 and more (and 7% for Texarkana residents). Local taxes depend on your location but can be about 1% (no more than $25). Check Arkansas’ fee schedule for specific information about your vehicle’s fees and taxes.
Congratulations, You’re Done!
You’ve completed the AR vehicle registration renewal.
Keep track of your expiration date by writing it on your calendar. Otherwise, watch for when the renewal notice comes your way. Forgoing renewal can land you in trouble with fines and penalties so don’t let this lapse else, you may need to follow our suspended license guide!
And, as always, continue practicing safe driving.