Colorado DMV Point System: What is it? How does it Work?
The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) assigns points to traffic tickets. The DMV point system will monitor the points you receive after each ticket. If you get 9 or more points in a year, you are likely to get a suspension. Not only do you get a suspension, but the points will also remain on your Colorado driving records for many years.
Colorado DMV Point System
The DMV point system assigns fewer points to lesser severe citations and more for critical violations. You can get the point for the lesser offenses and up to 12 for the more severe. Getting multiple traffic tickets for minor offenses will add up. So, don’t think less severe offenses will not lead to a license suspension.
Here are some traffic offenses and the points assigned to each:
3-Point Offenses or Less
- Driving 5 – 9 mph above the speed limit:1 point
- Failing to use your turn signal: 2 points
- Improper turn: 3 points
- Failing to yield the right-of-way: 3 points
- Driving 10 – 19 mph above the speed limit
- Careless driving
- Illegal or improper passing
- Driving without insurance
6 & 8- Point Offenses
- Failing to stop for a school bus: 6 points
- Driving 20 – 39 mph above the speed limit: 6 points
- Reckless driving: 8 points
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Eluding law enforcement
- Driving 40 mph or more over the speed limit
Colorado DMV Point System & License Suspension
The number of points for a suspension will vary for minors and adults. Minors (less than 21 years old) with provisional license or permit will get a suspension if they receive a certain number of points within a year. The points that lead to a suspension will vary by age. For adults, the amount of point within time will determine the length of the suspension.
Minors Under 18
- 6 points or more within a year
- 7 points or more under the age of 18
Minors 10 to 21
- 9 points or more in a year
- 12 points or more in 2 years
- 14 points or more between 18 and 21 years
- 12 points or more in a year
- 18 points or more in 2 years
Colorado DMV Point System & License Reinstatement
You can get your license back after completing all the requirements set by the court. The type of infraction will determine how long your suspension will be. If your license was revoked, you must apply for a new driver’s license and go through the process as if you are getting a license for the first time.
The DMV may issue a conditional license after a suspension or revocation. Most times, the installation of an IID is a must. The cost of installation, maintenance, and rental fee will be your responsibility. Some counties may require a defensive driving course before you get your license back. Check your county court for verification.