Connecticut Traffic Tickets: Fines, Violations, and Penalties
A traffic ticket can lead to a violation if the ticket is not paid on time. The fee attaches to a ticket can vary according to the offense. Before you attempt to pay, make sure you know how much you will pay.
The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles adds points to your driving records when you commit a traffic violation. If you accumulate 10 points, your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days.
Some violators with a suspended license must attend an Operator Retraining Program as a result of the violation. The CT DMV will dismiss the traffic ticket after completing the program.
How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Connecticut
To pay a ticket to the Connecticut DMV, you may be able to do it online or by mail. Some tickets require a mandatory court appearance. In any case, verify this information by contacting the country court.
If the ticket is paid, the court considers it a plea of no contest and notifies the Connecticut DMV.
Contest the Traffic Ticket
For others who plan to contest the ticket, you must do so by submitting a “not guilty” plea online, by phone, or by mail before the due date to pay the fine. You can request the information by contacting the county court.
Is your ticket nowhere to be found?
You cannot find you Connecticut traffic ticket; there is no need to panic. Contact the Centralized Infractions Bureau at (860) 263-2750 and request the information. You can also E-mail them at [email protected] to get the information from the ticket. You must provide your name and birth date to get the information.
Fines and Penalties
Again, each violation has a different fee, and the more serious ones carry a more substantial fine. If you received Connecticut traffic ticket and you know you are at fault, it is best to pay it to avoid your license being suspended. For drivers with a commercial driver’s license, you must notify your employer within 30days of receiving the traffic violation.
Many violations may result in a driver’s license getting suspended for an extended period. Here is a list that will result in up to one-year suspension if:
- Leaving the scene of a n accident
- Driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher
- Refusing a BAC test
- Negligent use of a motor vehicle that causes a fatality
- Driving with a suspended, canceled, or revoked license
- A felony conviction
Connecticut traffic tickets, fines, and violation can result in a license suspension. To avoid getting your license suspended, revoke, or canceled, stay within the law and prevent any traffic violations. If you commit an offense, it is best to pay the fine to avoid not being able to drive.