Delaware Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes
All Delaware drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind-the-wheel unless they show fiscal responsibility. Insurance not only protects you when driving but others on the road. After all, you never know if an accident may happen!
Delaware is a 25/50/10 minimum insurance state.
This article shares what those insurance minimums are that you must carry. And, the repercussions of not having it. And, provides DE insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in Delaware.
The Delaware Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums
Delaware requires the following required auto insurance coverage:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $10,000
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage: $10,000 per accident
- Personal Injury Protection: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident
Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Delaware
The state of Delaware has variable penalties if you’re found driving without insurance. This could include a hefty fine to license suspension. You may also pay other fees and face variable penalties depending on your actions behind the wheel.
Typical penalties for driving in Delaware without insurance include:
- Fines ranging from $1,500 to $4,000+
- License suspension up to 6 months or more
- Possible registration suspension if audited and doesn’t show coverage
- Penalty fees up to $100+ (continuing each day past the first month)
- Higher insurance premiums and new registration fees
You may be required to show proof of insurance at any time when on the road such as during a road stop or when pulled over. Failing to show insurance coverage can result in a $1,500 to $2,000 fine for the first offense. Second offenses, within 3 years of the first, can result in fines of up to $4,000.
Delaware is a faulty state (you will pay for damages) and does periodic checks for insurance on registrations. You will receive a notice if they find you lack insurance coverage. You may face a fine for each day you do not have insurance when audited.
Delaware does not require drivers to get SR-22 insurance if found driving without insurance. Instead, you will get an FR-19 Delaware Insurance Certificate.
Finally, you may have your driving privileges suspended for up to 6 months if found without an insurance policy and driving in the state.
Compare Quotes for Delaware Insurance Policies
Whether you just moved to Delaware or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind the wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.
Your intent may be finding cheap Delaware auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many DE car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums.
Check to ensure you’re given the best coverage else shop for new coverage by comparing insurers!