Delaware Registration Renewal
The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) oversees your vehicle’s registration renewal.
You’ll need to complete a renewal before the registration expires to continue (legally) driving. Failing to renew can result in penalties including a $20 late fine. You may also run into occurrences like a license suspension or revocation if you choose to drive without registration.
You will not receive a renewal notice before your vehicle’s expiration unless you sign up for an email or phone alert. The notice shares information about your renewal options. If you haven’t received the notice, realize that vehicles are renewed annually.
You can renew your Delaware vehicle registration:
- By Mail
You may check the status of your license by requesting driver records to see if there are any issues with your vehicle. Given you don’t have restrictions, follow along to complete the renewal process.
Delaware Car or Truck Registration Renewal: Step-by-Step
To renew your vehicle’s registration in Delaware, all you’ll need to do is take a trip down to your local DE DMV. You can also renew by sending your information by mail. You’ll submit your personal and vehicle information, pay fees, and be good to drive again.
Your renewal notice states if you need a vehicle inspection – this depends on if:
- The vehicle is within the first 7 model years: No need to do a safety/emissions test
- The vehicle is beyond the first 7 model years: Tests every two years
You should try to complete these tests no more than 90 days before you plan to renew.
Ready? Let’s get everything sorted!
In-Person Registration Renewal
Do the following if you want to handle the renewal in person:
- Visit a DE DMV
- Provide your DE driver’s license
- Show proof of your DE auto insurance
- Show your current registration
- Submit your odometer reading
- Show proof of passing vehicle inspections (if applicable)
- Pay your renewal fees
Congratulations! You’re good for the roads!
Mail-in Registration Renewal
You must pass the following requirements to renew by mail:
- The vehicle is less than 6 years old
- The vehicle weighs less than 10,000 lbs.
- The vehicle doesn’t require an inspection
You will follow the steps in the registration package and send a payment to the DMV. This should process within a few days (sometimes weeks if busy).
Delaware Registration Renewal Fees and Taxes
The Delaware vehicle-renewal rates depend on the vehicle:
Your typical fees include:
- Passenger vehicles: $40
- Renewal late fee: $20
- Temporary tag: $20
Check the state’s Motor Vehicle Fees for an exact set of potential fees for your process.
Congratulations, You’re Done!
You’ve completed the Delaware vehicle registration renewal.
Keep track of your expiry date or keep an eye out for the renewal notice sometime next year. Forgoing renewal can land you in trouble with fines and penalties so don’t let this lapse.
Continue practicing safe driving, respect the rules of the roads, and be nice to one another. Happy driving out there in Delaware!