Florida DMV Points System: What is It? How does it Work?

The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will suspend your driving privileges if you commit too many violations that result in points added to your driving record. The way how Florida DHSMV point system works is points are added to your driving record when you are cited and found guilty of a driving violation. Every violation is has a certain number of points attached to it.

Florida DHSMV Point System

Based on the Florida point system, the points you receive can remain on your driving record for some time. If you continue to accumulate more points, your license suspension can start from 30 days and up to one year. Here is a breakdown of the suspension time and points accumulated:

  • 12 points within one year: 30 days suspension
  • 18 points within 18 months: 3 months suspension
  • 24 points within 3 years: 1 year suspension

There are other things that can result with your license getting suspended. These are:

  • Drug or alcohol offenses
  • Failure to pay child support
  • Failure to pay a traffic fines
  • Street racing

Infractions That Equate to Points

The most known infractions that will result in points on your driving records is:

  • Speeding
    • Up to 15 mph over the speed limit: 3 points
    • Over 15 mph over the speed limit: 4 points
    • Causing an accident: 6 points
  • Driving with an open alcohol container: 3 points
  • Littering: 3 points
  • No child safety restraint: 3 points
  • Reckless driving: 4 points
  • Collision caused by a moving violation: 4 points
  • Passing a stop and flashing light school bus: 4 points
  • Fleeing the scene of an accident: 6 points

Once you obtain points on your driving record, don’t expect them to disappear. The points can remain up to ten years. So, drive carefully to avoid getting any points. Some points you obtain after an infraction can be taken off your driving record.

Florida Traffic Schools

Getting points off your driving record is not that easy. One option to remove points is to take some driving courses. But before you run off and register for any classes, make sure you are given approval from the courts. Only a state approve program will allow you to offset some points.

So, in Florida are some courses that are approved by state once completed will removed certain points. Here are the areas to complete that will help:

  • Basic driver improvement
  • 3-in-3 driver change course
  • Advanced driver improvement

Basic Driver Improvement

You may do this course only if you receive a violation in:

  • Reckless driving
  • Speeding
  • Passing a school bus with flashing lights
  • Collision for which you were at fault

3-in-3 Driver Change Course

  • You must complete this course if you committed three violations that caused a crash within three years

Advanced Driver Improvement

  • This course is completed by anyone with a suspended license
  • Ordered by the court
  • For non-DUI offenses

If you are caught driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), the courses to reinstate your license will differ.