Georgia DUI Laws, Limits, and Penalties

Registration Renewal in North Carolina Guide

In Georgia, there is an absolute zero tolerance for drinking or driving under the influence for all ages. Safety is one of Georgia’s highest priorities. If you get caught driving under the influence or while intoxicated in Georgia, you will get charged with a DUI (Driving Under the Influence). It is so important to avoid any alcohol consumption at all costs. Especially before going behind the steering wheel and risking your life and the lives of others on the road

Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Test

Once pulled over, you will have to undergo a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test to determine the alcohol percentage in your body. In Georgia, if you are over 21 years of age and driving with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08%, you are intoxicated. If you are caught under age 21, a reading over 0.02% is deemed intoxicated. Lastly, if you’re driving a commercial motor vehicle with a reading over 0.04% is considered intoxicated. You will most likely be charged with a DUI in all of these cases.

Georgia DUI Penalties

Below we provide a breakdown of the penalties in Georgia if caught driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol if you’re age 21 and older. These offenses listed below are for first, second and third time offenders:

First offense:

  • License suspended for one year
  • $300-1000 fine
  • Pay a $210 to reinstatement license
  • Enroll in mandatory DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program
  • Complete 40 hours of community service
  • Possible imprisonment for up to 1 year

Second offense:

  • License suspension from 18 months – 3 years
  • $600-1000 fine
  • Pay a $210 to reinstatement license
  • Enroll in mandatory DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program
  • Complete 30 days of community service
  • Minimum 48 hours in jail and a possible sentence of 90 days to 1 year in jail
  • Likely interlock ignition device

Third offense:

  • 1,000 – $5,000 fine
  • Pay a $410 to reinstatement license
  • Spend 15 days in jail
  • Complete at least 30 days of community service
  • Take part in clinical evaluation and treatment
  • Having your name, address and photo published in your local newspaper (responsible also for paying for this)

Driver’s License Reinstatement

When your suspension period comes to an end for receiving a DUI conviction, you will have to make sure you completed all the required penalties. Once clearance is received, you must pay $210-$410 to restore your license and show that you received a certificate for completing the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program. Upon approval, you will have to go through the whole process of obtaining a driver’s license again in the state of Georgia.