How to Reinstate Your Suspended License in Georgia: Fees and Options

Georgia Suspended License Guide

A suspension or revocation means you’ve lost your privileges to drive.

It’s unfortunate but the law is the law.

Do not, under any circumstances, push the state by driving on a suspended license. This could lead to serious punishments including longer suspensions, fines, and even jail time.

In this article, you’ll learn why your license was suspended. Plus, what you need to do for reinstatement in the state of Georgia. Let’s dig in.

Why Your License (Probably) Got Suspended

Your license is suspended if you accumulate more than 15-points in 2-years under GA’s point system.

Points and suspensions happen for many reasons, like:

  • Traffic violations
  • Alcohol/drug violations
  • Speeding
  • No liability insurance
  • DWI & DWI
  • Unpaid tax debts
  • Refusing the BAC test
  • Safety violations
  • Failing to pay child support

Georgia also includes a list of mandatory suspensions:

  • Homicide by vehicle
  • Felony while using a vehicle
  • Fleeing or eluding an officer
  • Hit and run
  • Racing

Plus, if you’re caught driving with a suspended license.

Mandatory revocations happen when a license is suspended, and you repeat offenses. This is when you’re declared a habitual violator or refused to submit re-examination of driving skills. The mandatory revocation can happen if you’re too unfit to drive, too.

How to check the status of your license:

  • Call 678-413-8400
  • Visit one of the many DDS service centers
  • Use the DDS.ga.gov website

Revocations typically happen if you commit a 3rd mandatory suspension type conviction within a 5-year period. Or, an immediate revocation if you’re unfit to drive or refuse to take DDS written/driving tests.

My GA License Got Suspended, Now What?

The obvious answer: avoid any driving with a suspended or revoked license.

You will need to wait for the duration of the suspension/revocation and pay fines before a license is reinstated. Or, you reach the moment when you can re-apply once these restrictions are lifted. The duration and fees depend on your activities, worse offenses cause more suspension time.

Suspensions last a few months to many years.

If the suspension was a surprise, check the status of your license on the Georgia Department of Driver Services. Or, call a local office inquiring the decision and what steps you’ll need to take moving forward.

Making an Appeal

You may appeal to the GA DDS about your suspension.

This includes doing:

  1. Submitting a hearing request
    1. Within 10-days of the suspension
  2. Paying a $150 – $250 fee
    1. Depends on suspension type

This only includes the appeal to the GA DDS, it doesn’t include penalties.

Reinstating a Georgia Suspended License

Reinstating a suspended license may include:

  • Submitting proof of insurance
  • Pleading or pay traffic violation tickets
  • Paying and catching-up on child support payments
  • Paying mandatory files and jail time for DUI
  • Retaking a traffic course or DUI program

You will also need to pay any additional fines and fees associated with the suspension.

Reinstating a license typically involves these steps:

  1. Submit an Official Notice of Suspension
    1. Online: Transaction ID on the form
  2. Provide proof of ID
    1. ID
    2. DoB
    3. SSN
    4. Driver’s license #
  3. Complete/retake:
    1. Driving course (if applicable)
    2. Driving test (if applicable)
  4. Pay any necessary fees including:
    1. DUI: $200 – $210
    2. Proof of Insurance: $200 – $210
    3. Points: $300 – $410
    4. Failure to Appear: $90 – $100
  5. Pay reinstatement fees

Mail your documents and payment to:

Department of Driver Services (DDS)

Validation Unit

P.O. Box 80447

Conyers, GA 30013

Do all these items and you’ll soon regain your driving privileges!

Limited Driving Permits

Georgia does show some leniency with suspended driver’s licenses if:

  • Driving to/from work
  • Receiving medical attention to drug abuse
  • Attending college/classes
  • Attending a driver’s ed course
  • Attending/doing community service/probation

…and a few others best mentioned with the GA DDS and legal counsel. The limited permit is instantly revoked if you violate the terms of your condition.