How to Transfer a Vehicle Title in Georgia

Georgia Title Transfer Guide

You’ll provide proof of ownership whenever buying or selling a vehicle. The title is what you exchange during this transaction. The title transfer process is quite easy in the state of Georgia.

The basic steps involve these items:

  • MV-1 Motor Vehicle Title/Tag Application
  • $18 title transfer fee
  • An emissions test (if required)

The process happens through the Department of Revenue in Georgia. Whether you’re buying from a dealer or via private sales – you’ll want to follow these steps to make it easy for everyone.

Title Transfers in Georgia: Step-by-Step

A title transfer is simple when the parties are ready, and paperwork is available. The title transfer should happen within 30-days of the sale. You’ll then register the vehicle.

Don’t have the title? Follow the title replacement process if you’re having trouble locating the original or if it’s been damaged beyond use. You must get the vehicle registered else you cannot legally drive it in the state of Georgia. Plain and simple.

Ready? Let’s begin!

The transfer includes the following:

  1. Exchange the Certificate of Title
    1. (Seller) Sale price & date
    2. (Seller) Odometer disclosure
      1. Unless 10yo+, over 16k lbs, govt, or dealer-to-dealer
    3.  (Lienholder) Included on the title and application
    4. Emission certification (if required)
  2. File the Motor Vehicle Title/Tag (MV-1)
  3. Show your personal documents:
    1. Proof of ID
    2. Proof of insurance
  4. Pay the vehicle $18 transfer fee
  5. Pay the $20 registration fee
  6. Pay any applicable taxes

Congratulations! You bought and registered a vehicle!

You should create a bill of sale to show the sale price and date. This covers both parties in case there are issues with the transfer and registration.

Dealerships

Dealerships handle most of the title transfer process.

They’ll provide a temporary, 30-day permit until you’re registered – through the normal process.  Dealerships will process your title & registration for free most times – but some may charge. Save every document for safe keeping.

Out-of-state Vehicles

Got the vehicle’s title? You’ll need to bring these when transferring:

  1. Your documents
    1. Driver’s license or ID
    2. Auto insurance
  2. Vehicle documents
    1. Title or T-17 Form (Statement of Title)
    2. VIN inspection (Certification of Inspection by a Duty Constituted Georgia Law Enforcement Officer – T-22B form)
    1. Emission inspection certification (if required)
  1. Applications
    1. Motor Vehicle Title/Tag Application (MV-1)
  1. Payments
    1. $18 title transfer
    2. $20 registration
    3. Local taxes

You’ll then process the vehicle the same as you would the normal registration process.

Georgia Title Fees and Taxes

There’s no escaping fees and taxes when transferring and registering a vehicle. Luckily, thee fees aren’t too expensive. Fees can include:

  • Title Transfer Fee: $18
  • Registration Fee: $20

…plus, applicable county and state taxes.

It’s best to chat with your county GA office for your exact case and needs. Or, refer to the GA DMV website for a complete breakdown of what you’ll pay.