Georgia DMV Points System: What is It? How does it Work?
In Georgia, the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) handles driver violations through a rigid point system. Like many other states, accumulating too many points due to traffic infractions can lead to your license being suspended. Accruing 15 points over two years in Georgia will lead to license suspension. And amassing too many points on your record can also negatively affect your auto insurance rate.
Georgia License Suspensions
Below is a list of incidents where your license will suspend by the state of Georgia:
- Collecting too many driving points
- Failure to have Georgia car insurance while driving
- Committing major driving violations
- Committing offenses unrelated to driving, like failing to pay child support or not appearing in court
If your violations are deemed to be unlawful, there is a good chance you may get your license revoked in Georgia. For example, the Georgia DD can take away your license completely if:
- You receive a 3rd conviction within five years for a violation that carries a mandatory suspension
- Refusal to take a written or driving test granted by the DDS
- Reasoned unfit to drive due to a medical condition, disability, or addiction
Georgia DDS Point List
Below we provide examples of incidents in Georgia where points are added to your driving record. It all comes down to how severe the violation or traffic ticket is. Hopefully, this does not happen to you! The more damage is done, the more points will be added to your license. For example:
- Speeding 15-18mph over the speed limit: 2 points added
- Open alcohol container in the car: 2 points added
- Speeding 19-23 mph over the speed limit: 3 points added
- Speeding 24-33 mph over the speed limit: 4 points added
- Reckless driving: 4 points added
- Speeding over 34mph: 6 points added
- Hostile driving: 6 points added
For drivers with a Georgia commercial driver’s license (CDL), the point penalties are much more severe and can lead to immediate license suspension, depending on the severity of the violation.
How to Remove Points in Georgia
To remove 7 points from your license, you can complete a defensive driving course every five years. When you’re finished with the course, please drop off your form in person at a Georgia DDS office or mail your point reduction request to:
Georgia Department of Driver Services
P.O. Box 80447
Conyers, GA 30013
In conclusion, the Georgia DMV Points System can be tricky to understand. We encourage Georgia drivers to do their independent research and consult with an experienced professional if they have unanswered questions about this important issue. As DMV points can impact your driving record for up to 5 years, you must understand how many points you have on your license at all times. Applying for a defensive driving course to reduce or remove points from your license is also crucial.