How to Register a Car or Truck in Idaho: The Complete Guide

Want to get your car on the road in Idaho? It’s an easy process done in-person.

An Idaho car registration requires you file and submit a few different forms and fees depending on the type of vehicle. Registration is a requirement whether you’ve purchased a vehicle new or used, through a private or dealer sale. The registration process shouldn’t take longer than a few, total hours if you read this guide and prepare ahead of time.

Your main tasks include satisfying:

  • Proof of identification
  • Registration/Title application
  • Proof of ownership
  • Proof of auto insurance
  • Paying the taxes and fees

…plus, any applicable vehicle testing and disclosures.

You will register your vehicle, in-person, at an Idaho Division of Motor Vehicles, county assessor motor vehicle office. Failing to register on-time can result in late fees and potential issues.

We’ve outlined the Idaho registration process, keeping it as easy-as-possible.

Your Idaho Vehicle Registration Guide: Step-by-Step

Your vehicle registration depends on if it was purchased from a dealer, through a private sale, or transferred/gifted. If coming from out-of-state, new residents must get ID auto insurance, transfer their title, get a VIN inspection, and complete the registration (following the steps detailed below).

You must have auto insurance to register your vehicle in Idaho.

Ready to get on the road? Follow along with the section appropriate for your needs.

Registering a Vehicle from Private Sellers

You will have up to 30 days after its purchase to register the vehicle. Complete your transaction and head over to complete the process. Or, get the other party to come with you to file the documents so there aren’t any issues with the process.

To register your vehicle’s title/registration in Idaho you will:

  1. Find and visit a local ID motor vehicle office
  2. Complete and submit the Application for Certificate of Title (ITD 3337)
  3. Get and file the Vehicle or Hull Identification Number Inspection Certificate (ITD 3403)
    1. Note: Inspections cost $5, handled by your assessor’s office, local law enforcement, or through the Transportation Department
  4. Get an odometer reading (if the vehicle under 16,000lbs and less than 10 years old)
  5. Provide proof of auto insurance
  6. Provide your Idaho driver’s license or ID card
  7. Pay the title fees and taxes
    1. Title: $14
    2. Taxes: 6%
  8. Submit the vehicle title
  9. Pay the registration fees
    1. Passenger vehicles (1 – 2 years old): $69
    2. Passenger vehicles (3 – 6 years old): $57
    3. Passenger vehicles (7 years and older): $45
    4. Most motorcycles: $25

You may register the vehicle up to 2 years – double the fees when doing so.

Military members and out-of-state residents can submit their registration through the mail. In this case, they will submit the forms listed above and provide copies of their license, insurance, and payment for their registration fees/taxes. The fees are paid, by check, to the Ada County Processing Center.

Idaho requires an annual registration for passenger vehicles under 8,000lbs.

Registering a Vehicle from Dealerships

Dealerships will submit your registration documents on your behalf.

Use the vehicle registration process detailed above If your dealer doesn’t provide this service and gives you the paperwork.

Idaho Vehicle Inspections

Idaho may require two types of inspections:

  • VIN – Required for out-of-state vehicles (submit the ITD 3403 certificate when registering)
  • Emissions – Required in Canyon county, most of Ada county, and the city of Kuna. Testing is done every 2 years, you’ll receive a notice when this needs to be done. Failing to do so can result in a revoked registration if caught without it.

Set a Reminder for Registration Renewal

You’ll want to mark your calendar else wait to receive a renewal notice when it comes time. You can check the exact date listed on the registration so keep this in mind and mark your calendar!

See our ID registration renewal guide for more info when you’re ready.

Congratulations! You’ve registered your vehicle in the state of Idaho. Practice safe driving, be nice to others, and you’ll have a wonderful time on the open roads!