Idaho Teen License: A Step-by-Step Guide
Idaho and the Division of Motor Vehicles use the graduated licensing program to help new drivers understand road rules through practice and testing. This process begins by getting a learner’s permit (or SIP) when the teen is between 14 1/2 to 17 years old. The permit allows teens to practice driving with a qualified adult while learning the laws of the road. After at least 6 months and 50 hours of practice, teens can then take their knowledge test or driver’s education to get an intermediate license. Teens must hold this license for at least 12 months without any convictions or violations before being eligible for a full unrestricted driver’s license.
The program includes three stages:
This article details how to upgrade a learner’s permit into a provisional license.
How to Get a Provisional License in Idaho?
An Idaho intermediate license becomes available for teens meeting these requirements:
- Be at least 15 years old
- Held their learner’s for at least 6 months after driver’s ED or turned 17
- Completed the 50-hours of behind-the-wheel experience
- Have not received any traffic violations while holding their permit
Got these covered? Here is what you’ll do when visiting an Idaho DMV:
- Provide proof of Identification
- Provide proof of Idaho residency
- Provide your Social Security card
- Provide proof of school enrollment
- Provide the certificate from driver’s ED
- Pay the fees:
- $15 licensing fee
- $28.50 testing fee
- $6.50 admin fee
You will take a written test during the application.
The written test examines your knowledge of road rules and safety. You should have gained this knowledge during your behind-the-wheel experience and driver’s education – else brush up by taking online practice tests.
Provisional License Restrictions
Your intermediate license restrictions include:
- If under 17: 1 passenger under 17 (family member) for the first 6 months
- If under 16: Only day driving, night driving with licensed (21+) adult, no passengers in the front seat beside the supervising driver
Next: Upgrading to an Unrestricted License
Teens will hold their provisional license until they’re 18.
When the teen turns 18, they will return to the DMV to complete the Unrestricted Idaho License Application to upgrade.
The Idaho provisional license is an important step in a teen’s pathway to becoming an experienced, safe driver. Teens must meet the required criteria and follow all rules and regulations associated with the intermediate stage before upgrading to their unrestricted license.
Good luck on your journey!