Illinois DUI Laws, Limits, and Penalties
Driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious offense in Illinois.
To determine if you are driving impaired, the Illinois Secretary of State uses the blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) system. When you are stopped by an officer who administers a test, if your BAC is 0.08% or higher, you are legally drunk. Also, with a range of 0.05% to 0.08%, you can be cited for DUI.
The Consequences of Illinois DUI Laws
When you are stopped by an office and are asked to take a BAC test if you refuse the office will immediately suspend your license. If the test is administered and proves your alcohol level is 0.08% or more, you will be cited and taken into custody. If your alcohol level is below 0.08%, you will be cited and allowed to drive for 45 days until your court hearing. If you are found guilty, your license is suspended right after.
If you failed the test, you will receive a 6-month suspension or 12-month suspension for refusing to take the test.
Illinois DUI Penalties If your license was suspended immediately, you are now at the mercy of the courts and the SOS. You must fulfill all the requirements issued by the courts and the SOS to get your license reinstated. Here is a breakdown of the penalties:
- Driver’s license revoked:
- Under 21 years old: 2-year suspension
- 21 and over: 1-year suspension
- Maximum imprisonment: 6 months
- Minimum fine: $1000
- Community service
- Drug and alcohol program (if assigned)
- Vehicle registration revoked
Illinois Driver License Reinstatement
To get your driving privilege back, you must comply with the requirements from the courts. Without completing or pay the fines, you cannot drive. Here are what the requirements are:
- Driver’s license reinstatement fee: $500
- New driver’s license fee: $30
- Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
- IID installation fee: $85
- IID per month rental fee: $80
- IID per month monitoring fee: $30
What is also required are:
- Proof of financial responsibility
- Drug/alcohol evaluation
- Drug/alcohol program if ordered by the court
- Retake and pass the driver’s license exam (written, vision and driving)