How to Get a Driver’s License in Indiana?
Like other states, Indiana uses a graduated driver’s licensing program to help first-time drivers ease into their time on the road. This begins by getting a learner’s permit, eventually upgrading to a probationary license as the driver ages.
Anyone applying for an adult license – without a current license- will hold a driver’s permit and have to apply for a teen license before upgrading to the unrestricted license. This gives drivers ample time to get behind-the-wheel experience and pass requirements when upgrading.
How to Get an Indiana Drivers License?
Driver’s permit requirements include:
- Hold the permit for 180 days (if under 21)
- Meet age requirements:
- Option #1: 16 years old and 270 days
- Option #2: 16 years old and 90 days (with driver’s ed certificate)
- Complete 50 hours of supervised driving
- 10 hours of this practice at night
Any out-of-state licensed drivers will surrender their license and re-apply for an IN license within 60 days after establishing residency (driving tests are typically waived). Those without or with licenses less than 180 days old will surrender their license and apply for their learner’s permit.
Applications for an Indiana driver’s license are made at an Indiana BMV location. There, applicants will pay for a vision and driving test, submit their documents, and pay.
Getting Your Indiana Driver’s License: How-to
Driving in Indiana is a privilege; all drivers must respect local and state laws when on public roads. Applying for an IN driver’s license doesn’t take long if you meet the requirements. Driver’s education courses are optional during the permitting but do prove helpful as you’ll take a DMV driving test during your license application.
Here’s what you need to know.
What You’ll Do at the DMV
- Schedule and visit an IN BMV
- Provide proof of (U.S.) Identification
- Birth certificate, passport, visa
- Provide proof of Social Security Number
- Card, W-2, pay stub
- Provide proof of IN residency (2 documents)
- Utility bills, bank statements, voter ID
- Pass the tests/exams
- Driving test (waived if you did driver’s ed)
- Vision test
- Submit your Log of Supervised Driving
- Pay the application fee
- 75 and Younger: $17.50
- 75 to 84: $11
- 85 and Older: $7
Your license validation varies by age, with 75 and younger being six years, 75-84 for three years, and 85+ for two years. Keep note of this expiration date to plan your license renewal when it comes time.
How Much Does an Indiana Drivers License Cost?
After enrolling in a behind-the-wheel program, or reaching the age of 16 if you choose not to undertake formal driver training, you are eligible to obtain your permit from the BMV. As of 2021, the cost of a learner’s permit is only $9. This permit grants you the permission to commence your mandatory 50 hours of driving practice with your parents or guardians as per your state’s regulations.
Getting your driver’s license is a big moment. In Indiana, there is no fee to take the driving test or the vision screening test. If you are under 75 years old, you just have to pay a reasonable fee of $17.50 to get an Indiana driver’s license. If you are between 75 and 84 years old, the fee is $11, and if you are 85 years old or older, the fee is just $7.
How to Transfer License to Indiana?
Are you looking to move to Indiana? Then, you must follow the following steps to transfer your license to the Granite State.
- Get a copy of your official driving record and a verification letter.
- Proof of Identity and Lawful Status
- Valid out-of-state driving license
- Passport the Vision Test
- Pass the Knowledge Test
Once you finish the above, only then will you be able to get your Indiana driver’s license.
Indiana Testing and Exams
The DMV driving test verifies adult drivers can show respect for the road. You will need to make an appointment before taking the test. You will provide your own vehicle when testing.
Driver’s education is not required in the State of Indiana, but it can be a great help to get behind-the-wheel experience when applying for a license. These courses give classroom and real-world driving tests so you’re best prepared for the road and driving test during licensing.
You may retake the driving test every 2-weeks if you fail. You will wait two months before retaking the test if you fail three times, so get practicing before the big day!
Your vision screening verifies your eyesight; bring lenses if you require them.
Submitting these documents, taking these steps, and passing the tests will grant you an unrestricted driver’s license in Indiana. Safe driving is a necessity, but so is your everyday conduct. Breaking road rules and local/state laws can result in a suspended license. Or a revoked license if you’re a habitual offender.