Kansas Teen License: A Step-by-Step Guide
Kansas uses a graduated licensing program to help new drivers (usually teens) understand road rules and gain valuable behind-the-wheel experience through testing.
The program includes three stages:
- Learner’s permit
- Intermediate licenses
- Unrestricted (adult) license
By now, if you’re going through the GDL program, you’ll have a learner’s permit. If not, see our Kansas permit guide to apply. Then, continue below to learn how to apply/upgrade to your state’s provisional license.
Getting a Provisional (Restricted) Driver’s License
The provisional license is available to teens 15 or 16 years old.
Kansas has two versions of this level of license:
- Restricted (usually for 15-year old)
- Less restricted (usually for 16-year old)
Driver’s ed is required for a restricted license if under 16 years old.
To upgrade a permit to a provisional — you must pass these requirements:
- Be at least 15 years old
- Held a learner’s permit for one year
- Finished 25 hours of driving experience
- Get a certificate of driver’s ed completion (under 16 years old)
If you meet these requirements — you will do the following:
- Visit a local KS DMV (with parent’s permission if under 16)
- Provide your ID and residency documents
- Provide proof of driver’s ed completion
- Provide your 25-hour driving log (Form DE-IB01)
- Pass your vision test
- Pay the fees:
- License: $20
- Photo: $8
- Test: $3
If you pass the requirements and submit the correct information, you’ll have upgraded your learners into a restricted (or less restricted) license!
Driving Restrictions with a Restricted License
Yes, a provisional license gives you greater driving freedom when behind the wheel. Yet, there are restrictions depending on your age.
Restrictions for drivers under 16 years old include:
- Must be accompanied by a licensed adult (21+)
- Must keep to main roads between school/work and home
- Stick to driving to and from school, work, or farm-related work
- No non-siblings in the vehicle while driving
- Don’t use a cell phone to call or text while driving
Restrictions for a less restricted license, for the first six months over age 16, let you drive between 5 AM and 9 PM, to and from work/school, or to a place of religious worship. Only one non-sibling under 18 can accompany you when driving. Plus, you aren’t allowed to text or call when driving.
You are expected to drive the remaining 25 hours of your behind-the-wheel experience before upgrading to an unrestricted license.
The experience will include 10 hours (of the total 50) done at night.
Next: Upgrading to an Unrestricted License
The next stage of your Kansas licensing involves upgrading to an unrestricted license.
The unrestricted license is available to those meeting these requirements:
- Turn 17 years old
- Have a valid driver’s license
- Have completed a driver’s course (if under 18, for your restricted)
- Are cleared of any unpaid fines and fees
- Have the total 50 hours of driving experience
- Auto insurance (if you’re driving your own car)
Do you pass these requirements? If so, see our Kansas Licensing Guide for details on how to upgrade a provisional license into an adult/unrestricted one.
In conclusion, if you live in Michigan and need to replace a title for a vehicle, you are now aware of the process. You must fill out the necessary forms, ensure that all data is accurate, and provide all supporting documents before applying.