How to Renew Your Car Registration in Kansas

A hand at the wheel, driving
Reading Time: 3 minutes

The Kansas Department of Revenue (DOR) oversees your vehicle’s registration renewal. You’ll need to complete a renewal to continue (legally) driving. Your expiration depends on when you registered and is noted on the registration documents.

When you receive a renewal notice from the KS DMV before your vehicle’s expiration or can check with your local DMV for registry details by visiting their website, this notice shares the renewal date, vehicle information, any issues, and a PIN for online renewals (if applicable).

Most drivers can renew their vehicle’s registration:

  • In-person
  • Online
  • By Mail

Failing to renew your car’s registration can result in penalties. Given your license isn’t suspended or you have other restrictions from completing it – use the sections below to complete the renewal steps.

Kansas Vehicle Registration Renewal: Step-by-Step

Your registration renewal method will vary, depending on what’s mentioned on the notice.

Kansas has a registration renewal cycle organized by last name – as follows:

  • A – January 15 to February 28
  • B – February 15 to March 31
  • C, D – March 15 to April 30
  • E, F, G – April 15 to May 31
  • H, I – May 15 to June 30
  • J, K, L – June 15 to July 31
  • M, N, O – July 15 to August 31
  • P, Q, R – August 15 to September 30
  • S – September 15 to October 31
  • T, V, W – October 15 to November 30
  • U, X, Y, Z – November 15 to December 31

… and heavy trucks and trailers by December 31st.

There is no grace period if you miss your registration renewal window. There are no late fees if you miss the renewal, but driving without it is illegal! This can lead to a suspended license – so don’t do it!

If you’ve lost your tags sometime between the renewal, you can have them replaced. See our duplicate title guide for more information about this process if it’s a requirement for your renewal. You will also want minimum auto insurance when legally renewing to drive on state roads.

Here are the ways to renew your vehicle’s registration in Kansas:

Renewing In-Person

Renewing in person is your option if the renewal notice doesn’t state you can do so otherwise. You will do an in-person renewal if removing a lien-holder from the title, too.

Here is what you’ll do when renewing in person:

  1. Go to your local KS DMV/tag office
  2. Present your KS driver’s license
  3. Show your registration renewal notice, registration, or license plate number
  4. Show proof of auto insurance
  5. Pay your registration fees and property taxes
    1. Passenger vehicles (under 4,500lbs): $35
    2. Passenger vehicles (over 4,500lbs): $45
    3. Property taxes: Use the calculator

The clerk will process your information and complete the transaction. You will receive a refund if you’ve recently sold a vehicle, transferred the title without registering it to a new vehicle, moved, or lost the plate if any of these are applicable while you’re at the DMV.

Renewing Online

The notice details if you can process a renewal online. Renewing online is only eligible if you have a PIN, your registration is valid, and your insurance is accepted with the online verification system.

Here is how to renew your Kansas car registration online:

  1. Visit the KSWebTags page
  2. Input your information:
    1. PIN
    2. Vehicle year
  3. Follow the on-screen prompts
    1. Personal info
    2. Contact details
    3. Payment info
  4. Confirm the details
  5. Print your confirmation

You’ll receive your new registration and decals in the mail.

Renewing by Mail

Mail-in renewals are simple, as all the needed information is printed on the renewal form.

  1. Confirm your renewal details
  2. Include a copy of your insurance (if required)
  3. Include a check or money order for your renewal fee(s)
  4. Send all documents to the listed address

You’ll receive your renewed information by mail not too long after it’s processed.

Congratulations, You’re Done!

You’ve completed the KS vehicle registration renewal.

Keep track of your expiration date by writing it on your calendar. Otherwise, keep an eye out for the next time a renewal notice comes your way. Forgoing renewal can land you in trouble with fines and penalties, so don’t let this lapse – happy driving!