Kansas License Renewal: A Step-by-Step Guide

The Kansas Department of Revenue oversees the license renewal process.

You will renew your Kansas license depending on your age:

  • Under 21: Renews when they turn 21 years old
  • 21 to 65: Renews every 6 years
  • 65 and older: Renews every 4 years

The state will send a renewal notice at least 30 days before the expiration date. Call your local DMV if you did not receive the notice to get details.

Kansas license renewals is done:

  • In-person
  • By Mail

…depending on eligibility.

The following shares a quick and easy guide to renewing your driver’s license in Kansas.

How to Renew Your KS Driver’s License

A valid KS driver’s license is required if you drive on state roads and highways. You may renew your license up a year in advance unless you’re under 21. Your license renewal is 21 years old if under 21.

Failing to renew your license incurs a $1 late fee. You may also need to retake tests/exams. Driving with an expired license can result in a fine and possible suspension/revocation! So, try to renew as soon as possible to avoid any consequences.

In-Person License Renewal

You will do the following to renew in-person:

  1. Go to a KS DMV location
  2. Present your current driver’s license
  3. Present your social security card
  4. Show proof of Kansas residency
  5. Pass any applicable tests/exams:
    1. Vision
    2. Driving
  6. Get a photo taken
  7. Provide a signature
  8. Pay the renewal fees
    1. Renewals: See chart
    2. Photo: $8
    3. Exams: $1.50

You may need to pass a vision test, get a new photo taken, or take a driving exam depending on the validity of your license. Be prepared for these tests and extra fees. Otherwise, you’ll have your new license and be good to drive for another set of years depending on your age. Congratulations!

Mail-in License Renewal

Given your license isn’t suspended, revoked, or expired, you may renew it through it the mail if you’re currently living outside the state such as going to school, on vacation, or an active military member.

You may choose to renew by mail or extend renewal by submitting a Kansas Driver’s License Extension or Replacement (DEMI-1) form. You will include a check covering your renewal and photo fees.

Mail-in renewals go to:

Driver’s Licensing

P.O. Box 2188

Topeka, KS 66601

It’s best to call the KS DMV for information regarding your out-of-state renewal.

Become a Better Kansas Driver

Looking for more information and guides to become a better Kansas driver? Check out our KS DMV topics, browse our DMV directory, or get active in the community!