Louisiana Title Transfer: Step-by-Step
A title transfer is required in Louisiana to prove ownership if you bought a new or used car. The title transfer is required if you sold, donated, or gifted your car, too.
The title transfer process is easy in the state of Louisiana, requiring a few steps filing info, paying fees, and submitting paperwork.
The first step for transferring the title is to complete a Louisiana Title/Liens form, which can be found at your local DMV office. On this form, you will need to fill out information about yourself, the car, any liens on the vehicle, and who you are transferring it to.
Louisiana Auto Title Transfers: How It’s Done
Selling your vehicle or buying one through a private sale?
You can do so, given you file the current registration, a notarized bill of sale, and a notarized certificate of title with your local LA DMV. Vehicles under 16,000 lbs and less than 10 years old require an odometer disclosure statement during their title transfer.
This is the process (including both parties):
- Retrieve the vehicle’s title or request a duplicate title
- Note: You may need a lien release from the current owner
- Fill the title transfer section on the Louisiana certificate of title – including:
- Full legal name and address of the purchaser and current owner
- Date of sale (month, day, and year)
- Odometer reading (if applicable)
- Complete the Vehicle Application (Form DPSMV 1799)
- Owner/applicant information
- The vehicle, mobile home, or vessel description
- Odometer declaration if the seller (vehicles 10yrs and newer, over 16000lbs)
- Application signatures
- Bring the necessary personal documents:
- Proof of identification
- Proof of insurance
- Documents stating any liens have been paid
- Bill of sale
- Pay the taxes and fees
- Title: $68.50
- Handling: $8
* The title transfer may happen when receiving a duplicate title.
Always keep copies of the bill of sale for record-keeping.
Congratulations, you’ve successfully completed the Louisiana title transfer process!
Alternative Louisiana Title Transfers
Louisiana wants to know when titles are transferred outside of private sales, whether buying from a car lot or passing the vehicle & title around family and friends.
Buying from Dealerships
Dealerships will process your title & registration, sending documents to their appropriate locations if they don’t, request the forms and deliver them to an LA DMV. They will complete the DPSMV 1799 form and do the process as noted in the section above.
Transferring your out-of-state title requires you to file the DPSMV 1799 application. You’ll also need to provide proof of insurance and ownership/lien and pay the appropriate fees.
Inheriting a Vehicle
Inheriting a vehicle from a deceased family member involves much of the same process as private auto title transfers. Except, you’ll file a notarized bill of sale or Act of Donation of a Moveable along with the other paperwork.
The process of gifting or donating your vehicle is largely the same as passing it to a family member. You will complete the process much like transferring a title through private sales. Except, you’ll typically be eligible for a tax credit because it’s a gift/donate.
Regardless of the situation, transferring your vehicle title in Louisiana requires you to submit various forms and documents as proof of ownership and insurance. You’ll also need to pay the applicable fees. It’s important to contact your local Department of Motor Vehicles for specific requirements or guidance. Additional paperwork and/or steps may be necessary depending on the situation. It’s always best to double-check before you move forward. Knowing the process ahead of time can help make sure your vehicle title transfer is smooth and efficient. Good luck!