Maine Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes

Reading Time: 2 minutes

All Maine drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind-the-wheel.

This article shares what insurance minimums you must carry. The article also covers the repercussions of not having it. And, provides ME insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in Maine.

The Maine Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums

Maine has a 50/100/25 limit set by the state.

Maine requires the following required auto insurance coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability: $50,000 per person / $100,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability: $25,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage: $50,000 per person / $100,000 per accident
  • Medical Payments Coverage: $2,000 per person

Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Maine

Driving without insurance is a serious offense in the state of Maine.

The fines and penalties depend on your actions when behind-the-wheel. You can expect anything from fees and loss of driving privileges to potential jail time.

Typical penalties for driving in Maine without insurance include:

  • Up to $1,100 fine
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Up to 6 years suspension of license, registration, or both
  • Required SR22 insurance
  • Higher insurance premiums
  • Registration reinstatement costs

In all, driving without insurance in Maine is a major issue.

You may receive these penalties when being stopped or through the states electronic monitoring. Failing to provide proof of insurance will result in a 1st offense. Subsequent offenses carry heavier fines, fees, and possible jail time for your actions.

You may often get penalties waived by providing proof you’ve retained insurance within (usually) 30 days. And, provided that your insurance was active at the time of the violation.

Maine is strict about driving without insurance especially if a serious accident happens causing bodily injury or death. Fines can reach thousands of dollars and years of jail time if your actions were deemed negligent. The driver may also sue for personal or property damage!

You can expect extra fees when filing to reinstate your ME license after its suspension or revocation.

Compare Quotes for Maine Insurance Policies

Whether you just moved to Maine or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind-the-wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.

Your intent may be finding cheap Maine auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many ME car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums – this also applies to good students!