Maine License Renewal: A Hassle-Free Guide
The Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) oversees the Maine license renewal process.
The state sends a renewal notice before the license expiration date. Failing to renew your license on-time may result in penalties, a need to retake tests, and/or loss of driving privileges if caught driving.
You can check your license validity and expiration date by requesting driving records. Otherwise, take note of its expiration on the card or if you’ve marked it on the calendar.
Valid Maine license renewals are available via:
The following sections share the step-by-step process to renew your ME driver’s license.
How to Renew Your ME Driver’s License
A valid ME driver’s license is required if you drive on state roads and highways. Maine auto insurance is a requirement, too, if you plan to operate your vehicle. The renewal process doesn’t take long if you have documents ready and follow the steps below.
You will do the following to renew in-person:
- Go to an ME DMV location
- Present your ME driver’s license
- Or: Proof of ID (ex. ID, Passport, etc.)
- Provide your Social Security number
- Pass your vision test (if applicable)
- Pay the renewal fees
- 65 years old and younger: $30 (6 years)
- 65 years old and older: $21 (4 years)
Congratulations! You’ve successfully renewed your Maine driver’s license. You’ll receive a temporary license until the permanent one arrives by mail in a few weeks.
Any ME driver can do an online renewal given they don’t have the following restrictions:
- The license is suspended or revoked
- Trying to renew a CDL license
- Haven’t provided proof of residency to the BMV
- Changed names since the last renewal
- Developed a medical condition or existing condition changed
- Require an eye exam
You can process an online renewal by doing the following:
- Visit Maine’s online renewal portal
- Select ‘Renew my driver’s license’
- Input personal information:
- Date of Birth
- License # (if known)
- Follow the on-screen prompts
- Pay the renewal fees
- Print the confirmation
You should receive your renewed license by mail in a few days after it’s processed.
Military Members and Out-of-State Residents
Both military and out-of-state residents are deferred to renew online.
Military members may have their renewal fee waived if they have a K endorsement or a 2 endorsement on their license. In-person renewals are available, too, if stationed in-state.
Become a Better Maine Driver
Looking for more information and guides to become a better Maine driver? Check out our ME DMV topics, browse our DMV directory, or get active in the community!