Maryland DUI Laws, Limits, and Penalties
In Maryland, the Motor Vehicle Administration issues driving license and suspend, revoke, or cancel tham. The most severe traffic violations will result in a Maryland driver’s license suspension. The Maryland DUI Laws are unforgiving to violators; especially repeat offenders. In addition to getting a suspension, drivers receive hefty fines and mandatory courses. So, the best remedy is not to drive while intoxicated. Regardless if you are under the legal limit.
Maryland DUI Laws & BAC Test
Maryland DUI Laws use the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test to determine the amount of alcohol you consume before you got behind the wheel. The legal limit percentage differs among adults, minors, and commercial drivers. Nevertheless, the penalties are all the same for a minor, an adult or a commercial driver.
If you refuse to take the BAC test, your license is suspended right away and you will be arrested. In Maryland, refusing to take the BAC test automatically suspend your license for two years. The penalties are less severe if you take it and fail.
To be considered intoxicated, your BAC test must be:
- 0.08% or higher for adults (21 years and older)
- 0.02% or higher for minor (under 21 years)
- 0.04% or higher for commercial drivers
Maryland DUI Laws & Penalties
The penalties for Maryland DUI Laws will definitely result with a Maryland driver’s license suspension. First-time offenders are penalized the least. On the other hand, repeated offenders have the longest suspensions, pay more fines, and must take drug and alcohol classes. Some are also required, by the court, to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on their vehicle. Only individuals who are given restricted privileges to drive must install an IID.
The Maryland DUI Laws have administrative penalties. Administrative penalties are different for someone who refuses to take the BAC test than for another who does. When you refuse the BAC test, you will:
- Lose your license for 270 days or install an IID for a year (1st time offenders)
- Lose your license for 2 years (2nd time offenders)
If you failed the test, you will:
- Lose your license for 180 days (1st time offenders)
- Lose your license for 180 days (2nd time offenders)
If you are required to install an IID, it must be done by a court approved technician. You must pay for the installation and maintenance until the device is removed from your car.
If your license was revoked or suspended multiple times, you must take alcohol education course to reinstate your license. If you don’t complete the classes, your license will remain suspended until you do.
Maryland DMV Point System
When you are convicted of a DUI, points are added to your Maryland driving records. For a DUI, you will have 12 points added to your driving records. Unlike others points, points obtain from DUIs are not taken off of your driving records.
Maryland DUI vs. DWI
In Maryland, DUIs are penalize more harstly than DWIs. The fines are higher and the suspensions are longer. If you are convicted of a DUI, you are more likely to spend time in jail than a with a DWI conviction. The Maryland DUI Laws for:
- License revoked for up to 6 months
- Fine $1,000
- Imprisonment of up to 1 year
- 12 points on your record
- License revoked for up to 1 year and IID installed
- Fine $2,000
- Imprisonment for up to 5 days minimum and 2 years maximum
- Mandatory alcohol abuse program
DWI will get your license suspended for:
- License suspension for up to 6 months
- Fine $500
- Imprisonment for up to 2 months
- 8 points on your record
- License suspended for 1 year
- Fined $500
- Imprisonment for up to 1 year
- 8 points on your record
Maryland DUI Laws & Reinstatement
With some DUI convicts you can reinstate your driving privileges. However, it all depend on the court if you will drive again. If the court requires you to complete alcohol and drug courses and you did, you may get your Maryland driver’s license. You must also complete your suspension time and pay the reinstatement.
Once you can provide all the necessary documents and fees, you will get your driver’s license back or even a restricted one.