Massachusetts Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes
If you’re planning on taking your car for a ride in Massachusetts, it’s essential to ensure it’s adequately insured. Whether you’re an experienced driver or a new one just trying to get around, understanding the state’s car insurance requirements and laws can help keep you safe and save you some money. Here, we’ll break down the ins and outs of Massachusetts car insurance so that all drivers can be fully informed—and ready for any journey ahead!
This article shares what insurance minimums you must carry. The article also covers the repercussions of not having it. And provides MA insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in Massachusetts.
All Massachusetts drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind the wheel.
The Massachusetts Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums
Massachusetts requires the following required auto insurance coverage:
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $20,000 per person / $40,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability Coverage: $5,000 per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $20,000 per person / $40,000 per accident
- Personal Injury Protection: $8,000
Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs—some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage. You should also consider your needs between policyholder only and household insurance policies.
What are the Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Massachusetts?
Driving without insurance is a severe offense in the state of Massachusetts. The fines and penalties depend on your actions when behind the wheel. You can expect anything from fees and loss of driving privileges to potential jail time.
Typical penalties for driving in Massachusetts without insurance include:
- Fines between $500 to $5,000
- Having to pay a full year of auto insurance premiums
- Up to a year in jail (plus penalties)
- License suspension (up to 60 days) and plate/registration suspension
Reinstating a suspended license can cost upward of $500 and take a very long time, depending on your actions behind the wheel. You may dispute these CMVI citations by paying the MA DMV a $25 filing fee. Failing to follow through with the hearing (in 20 days) will incur a $45 late fee.
Massachusetts is strict about driving without insurance, especially if a severe accident happens, causing bodily injury or death. Fines could reach thousands of dollars and years of jail time if your actions were deemed negligent. The driver may also sue for personal or property damage!
Compare Quotes for Massachusetts Insurance Policies
Whether you just moved to Massachusetts or are a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind the wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.
Your intent may be finding cheap Massachusetts auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many MA car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums – this also applies to good students!