Michigan DMV Point System: What is It? How does it Work?

Illinois Suspended License Guide
Reading Time: 2 minutes

A traffic violation in Michigan can lead to points getting added to your driving records. So, don’t think that every traffic violation only comes with fines. Acquiring a large number of citations and points in a short time can also result in your Michigan license becoming suspended, revoked, or terminated. So, continue to read and get a better understanding of the Michigan DMV Point System.

What is the Michigan DMV Point System?

The Michigan DMV Point System relates to traffic violations and points assigned to each violation. The less severe the violation, the lower the point amount that will be assigned to your driving record. The more severe violations may result in additional charges and license suspension. The Michigan Secretary of State monitors drivers and assigns points.

Michigan DMV Point System and Violations

After you plead guilty to a violation and pay the fee, points will get added to your driving record. The points will vary and based on the violation. Here is a better understanding of the Michigan DMV Point System and the violations.

2-Point Violations

You will get 2-points added to your driving record when you:

  • Drive 10 mph over the speed limit
  • Are caught with an open alcohol container
  • Refuse a chemical test

3-Point Violations

Most 3-point violations are moving violations. They are the most common violations committed by drivers. These violations include:

  • Driving 11 through 15 mph over the speed limit
  • Disobeying a traffic signal
  • Improper passing
  • Careless driving
  • Failure to stop for a school bus
  • Failure to stop at a railroad crossing

4-Point Violations

Four-point violations are a little more severe than three-point violations. These violations include:

  • Operating a vehicle while impaired
  • Drag racing
  • Driving 16 mph over the speed limit
  • Failure to yield to emergency vehicles

6-Point Violations

In Michigan, violations worth 6 points are the most severe. You will receive 6 points if you are cited for:

  • Operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs
  • Driving recklessly
  • Fleeing or eluding the police
  • Refusing to take a chemical test
  • Reckless driving

Removing DMV Points

You can remove some points from your driving records. It will be determined based on the violations committed. To remove points, you must complete a Michigan Basic Driver Improvement Course. The course must be assigned by the court for approval. Points that are unable to be removed will remain on your driving record up to ten years.

Michigan Driving Records

Points are added to your driving records after you plead guilty or are found guilty of a violation. Less severe violations carry fewer points; these points remain for a shorter time on your driving record. The more severe violations will provide more points and remain longer on your driving record.

So, here is a better understanding of the points given per violation:

  • Points for moving violations: remains for two years
  • Accidents: remains for seven years
  • Suspension and revocation: remains for ten years
  • A DUI conviction: Permanent
  • A conviction for fatality: Permanent