How to Transfer a Car Title in Michigan: Step-by-Step
A Michigan title transfer process is easier than you may think. When you buy or sell a car, you must transfer the title into the buyer’s name. The process will vary if you are buying or selling the car. The process will also differ for buyers if the purchase is from a dealership or a private seller. Regardless, the title transfer is necessary.
Purchase from a Private Seller
You are responsible for the car registration and title transfer when you purchase a car from a private seller. Before submitting any documents to the Michigan SOS, you must ensure the seller completes the title certificate. He or she must sign it as well and include the odometer disclosure.
Once this is done, you can visit the nearest SOS office to start the title transfer.
When you visit the SOS office, provide the following:
- The completed title certificate
- Proof of insurance
- A completed Appointment of Agent form (Form TR-128)
- Proof of lien satisfaction if applicable
The title transfer must be completed within15 days of purchase.
Purchase from a Dealership
The dealer will submit the documents to the SOS office if you purchase your vehicle from a dealership. You will be given copies of the documents submitted. You can use the documents as proof of purchase until the title is mailed to you.
Selling Your Vehicle
As a seller, you must complete the title assignment on the current title certificate. So, you must enter:
- The mileage
- Sale date
- Selling price
- Sign the title
If possible, you should accompany the new owner to the SOS office to complete the title transfer. If you are unable, keep copies of the vehicle until the change is completed.
Michigan Title Transfers for Gifted and Inherited Cars
If you received your car as a gift from a family member, you must register it like purchasing. The only thing about a gifted car is you do not pay a sales use tax. A family member includes:
- Parents (stepparents and in-laws)
- Siblings (stepsiblings)
- Children (stepchildren)
At the time of registration, it is not required to provide proof of relationship. However, if a proof is required, you must provide it or face serious consequences.
Inheriting a car does not exempt it from registration. The new owner must register it as soon as possible. If the car is subject to probate, the executor or administrator of the estate will be responsible for assigning the title to a new owner.
Michigan Title Transfer Fees
The fees related to a title transfer will vary. Here is a list of the fees:
- Title: $15
- Late fee: $15
- Instant title: $5 additional
- Title replacement: $15
- Use tax: 6% of the purchase price when applicable
Michigan Duplicate Title Request
To replace a lost title, you must contact the SOS office and request a copy. You can apply online or in person.
You must provide:
- The last four digits of your Social Security number
- Driver’s license number
- Eye color
- The name of the business on file at the SOS (if applicable)
- The zip code of the business (if applicable)
- Title number
- Pay fee
Visit the nearest SOS office and provide your driver’s license or State ID. Pay the fee and wait for the title.
As you can see from this guide, the process of transferring the title of a vehicle in Michigan is straightforward and clear. After gathering the necessary paperwork, filing for a title transfer with the Secretary of State is both simple and hassle-free. Overall, transferring a car title in Michigan will take no more than an hour or two to complete and save you tons of headache in the future.