Missouri DUI Laws, Limits, and Penalties
DUI in Missouri is one of the severe offenses you can commit. If you are caught driving under the influence, the Department of Revenue will suspend your MO driver’s license. To help save lives, the Missouri DUI Laws are very strict when it comes to a DUI offense. Once you are convicted of a DUI, you will be required to take drug and alcohol courses to get your license reinstated. Repeated offenders must install an ignition interlock device (IID) in their car. The Missouri DUI Laws also impose huge fines on this infraction.
The Missouri DUI Laws and BAC Test
Missouri DUI Laws require every person stopped by an officer and assumed driving under the influence to take a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test or chemical test. The test will determine the alcohol concentration in your system. If you exceed the legal limit, you will get arrested, and your driving privileges were taken away. The legal limit differs for a minor, an adult, and a commercial driver.
If you are at the legal limit of above, you are considered intoxicated. The legal limit per person is:
- 0.08% for adults (21 years or older)
- 0.02% for minors (younger than 21 years old)
- 0.04% for commercial drivers
Missouri DUI Laws & Penalties
Missouri DUI Laws penalize everyone the same way if caught driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. The penalties will increase if the equal offender repeats the offense. First-time offenders will get a license suspension and fines. Second and third-time offenders will get both and will require to take driving courses and install an IID. The offender covers the cost of any classes and IID installation and maintenance.
You will likely have court penalties after a DUI conviction. The Missouri DOR will impose:
- Up to six months imprisonment
- A maximum fine of $500
- Alcohol treatment or drug addiction evaluation programs
Also, the DOR will impose suspensions on repeated offenders when:
- First DUI offense will get 90 days suspension
- Second DUI offense will get a year license revocation
- Second offense in 5 years will receive license cancellation for five years
- Third DUI will get a license cancellation for ten years
Missouri DUI Laws & Point System
The Missouri DOR also add points to your driving records when you are convicted of a violation. DUI conviction will add 8 points. If you get 8 points within 18 months, your license will be suspended for 30 days. If you are convicted on DUI a second time, the suspension will for 60 days. A third time and the suspension will be for 90 days.
For your license to get revoked for a year, you must receive:
- 12 points in a year.
- 18 points in two years
- 24 points in 3 years
Missouri DUI Laws & License Reinstatement
You may be able to reinstate your MO driver’s license after completing your suspension and paying the fines. Once you can provide all the necessary documents that show proof of completing the court’s requirements and pay the reinstatement cost, you will get your driving privilege back.
In some cases, one or more DUIs may prevent you from getting car insurance. If you are unable to get insurance, you must provide an SR22 to show proof of financial responsibility. With this document, you will get your MO license or a restricted license.