Missouri Suspended License: A Reinstatement Guide

Registration Renewal in North Carolina Guide
Reading Time: 3 minutes

Many traffic offenses will cause the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR) to suspend your Missouri driver’s license. The more severe crimes will also include fines that can be thousands of dollars. Repeated offenders are likely to have longer suspension time and higher fines.

Traffic Violations that will Lead to MO Suspended License

The most severe violations will suspend your driver’s license for some time before you can apply for reinstatement. However, some violations will not allow you to reinstate your driving privilege.

Your Missouri suspended license will occur because of:

  • Too many points added to your driving record in a short time
  • DUI/DWI of drugs or alcohol
  • Refusing to take a BAC test
  • Speeding and reckless driving

The duration of the suspension and fines will vary on the type of offense. Also, if you are a repeat offender.

MO Point System & MO Suspended License

The DOR uses a point system for traffic violations. Each traffic citation will add points to your MO driving records. The points you accumulate in a short time can have your driver’s license suspended. If you receive 8 points within 18 months, your license gets suspended for 30 days. The time will increase if you commit the same offense again.

So, for MO suspended license, you must get 8 points in 18 months. A first time offender will get his or her license suspended for:

  • 30 days
  • 60 days for the second offense
  • 90 days for the third offense

If you obtain a certain number of points in a shorter duration, your license will get revoked. So, a driver’s license will be revoked for a year if you get:

  • 12 points or more in 1 year
  • 18 points or more in 2 years
  • 24 points or more in 3 years

DUI/DWI & MO Suspended License

The DOR chemical test or BAC test measures the blood alcohol concentration in a person. The percentage differs for minors, adults, and commercial drivers. If you are caught driving over the legal limit, you will face suspension or revocation.

In MO, a driver is above the legal limit if:

  • Adult: 0.08% or more
  • Minor: 0.02% or more
  • Commercial drivers: 0.04% or more

You will receive a citation, your license suspended, and your vehicle impounded. If you refuse the BAC test, your license gets suspended for two years.

First-time offenders will get a 90-day suspension. A second-time offender receives a one-year suspension. Apart from the suspension, you must pay fines and complete alcohol treatment programs.

MO Suspension Appeals

You can contest your MO driver’s license suspension. To do so, you must request a Missouri DOR administrative hearing. It must be done with 15 days of your suspension. You can ask for a trial by mailing your correspondence to:

Administrative Hearing Section

301 West High Street – Room 470

P.O. Box 3500

Jefferson City, MO 65105

Reinstate Your MO Suspended License

To get back your driving privilege, you must complete your suspension and pay the fines. If you are required to complete drug or alcohol courses, you must do so before you apply for reinstatement. Some drivers might need to install an interlock ignition device (IID) if restricted driving was an option. If you are one of these drivers, you must pay the cost and maintenance fees as well.

After completing the requirements, you can submit the documents in person or by mail. By mail, send it to:

Driver License Bureau

P.O. Box 200

Jefferson City, MO 65105

In person:

Driver License Bureau

Truman State Office Building

301 West High Street, Room 470

Jefferson City, MO 65105

Reinstatement Fees

The DOR collects fees for your MO driver’s license reinstatement. The charges are depended on the offense. Here is a breakdown of the costs and violations:

  • $20 for offenses that include:
    • Moving violations
    • Accident judgments
    • Failure to file an accident report
    • Failure to appear in court
    • Inability to manage your IID
  • $45 for offenses that include:
    • Alcohol offense
    • Refusing to take a BAC test
    • Fuel theft
  • Insurance violations:
    • $20 to $400 for not having minimum car insurance
    • $150 providing false insurance information