How to Transfer a Car Title in Missouri: Step-by-Step

California Car Registration Guide
Reading Time: 3 minutes

The Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR) requires all vehicles have a title unless otherwise have exemptions. The title will show the name of the owner. If there are multiple owners, then the names must be on the title. If you are buying, selling, or inheriting a vehicle, you must conduct an MO title transfer. A title transfer will require names that will include the seller, buyer, or the person inheriting the car. To complete an MO title transfer, you must pay the application fee.

Missouri Title Transfer

Out-of-state Title Transfer

If you now reside in Missouri but have an out-of-state title, you must title your car at the MO DOR. To complete the process, visit the nearest DOR and submit:

  • Your out-of-state title
  • A completed Application for Missouri Title and License
    • Select “New Plates” if you will register the vehicle at the same time
    • Select “Title Only” if you are only titling your vehicle
  • Proof of car insurance
  • Statement of Non-Assessment from the assessor’s office
  • Proof of VIN and odometer inspection
  • Proof of safety and or emissions inspection
  • Pay Fees

In-state Title Transfer

Dealership Purchase

If you purchase your new or used car from a dealer, your documents for title and registration are forward, by the dealer, to the DOR. Since the sales tax was included in the sales price, you do not need to pay sales tax. You will receive copies of the documents to show as proof of purchase. Later, you will receive your title and registration documents in the mail.

Private Seller Purchase

When you buy from a private seller, you and the seller must complete the MO title transfer. You will have up to 30 days to title your vehicle before you must pay a late fee. Before you head over the nearest DOR, make sure you have:

  • A signed certificate of title or Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin
  • Bill of Sale
  • Notice of Sale
  • MO Application for Title and License
  • Inspection proof
  • Insurance proof
  • Pay Fee

Inheriting a Vehicle

When you receive a vehicle as a gift or inheritance, the title must be signed by the administrator or executor of the state. Once it is done, you can submit to DOR:

  • A complete Application for Missouri Title and License
  • Original or certified copies of:
    • Letters of Administration Letters Testamentary or
    • Small Estate Certificate/Affidavit
  • Payment of Fees

You can apply for a title by mail by sending your documents to:

Missouri Department of Revenue
Motor Vehicle Bureau
301 West High Street Room 370
Jefferson City, MO 65105

Missouri Title Transfer Fees

The MO DOR has fees attached to a car title and registration. The costs will vary by counties and sales tax. So, the prices you will pay are:

  • Initial titling: $11
  • State tax: 4.225% of the cost of the vehicle, plus local sales tax
  • Late titling fee: $25
    • $25 every 30 days after first late fee
    • Maximum penalty: $200

Applying for Name Change on MO Title

If you change your name legally and want to apply for a new title, you can do so by submitting:

  • A completed Application for Missouri Title and License
  • Current title
  • Proof of name change
    • Marriage certificate
    • Divorce Decree
    • Court Document
  • Payment
    • Motor vehicles: $11
    • Boats: $7.50
    • Outboard motors: $5

Applying for a Duplicate MO Title

If your current title is lost, damaged, or destroyed, or you paid off the lien, you can apply for a duplicate title. To do so, you must submit:

You may submit your documents in person or by mail at:

Missouri Department of Revenue
Motor Vehicle Bureau
301 West High Street Room 370
Jefferson City, MO 65105