Missouri Traffic Tickets, Fines, Violations, and Penalties

Pennsylvania Drivers License
Reading Time: 3 minutes

The Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR) oversees the licensing process. Since the DOR issues driver’s license, the department can also suspend, revoke, or cancel it as well. A traffic ticket is given when you commit a violation. There are less serious violations that will lead to a fine. More severe violations will have more penalties like points added to your MO driving records, your license suspended, revoked, or canceled and hefty fines.

Missouri Traffic Tickets & Fines

Missouri traffic tickets violation varies. When you are convicted of a less offense, you will receive a citation and points added to your MO driving records. Because the offense is not considered a major one, you will have different options to pay the fine. The DOR accepts payments in various forms. Most often, the type of payment and payment option is on the ticket.

Traffic Tickets Payment Options

You will have the option to pay your ticket online, by phone, in person, or by mail. Traffic tickets obtain because of a minor offense is usually paid online. To do so, create an account on the DOR website and provide all the information on the ticket. You will have the choice to pay with a credit or debit card.

To pay by phone, call your county court and provide the information on the ticket. You can also pay by credit or debit card. If your choice is to pay in person, visit your county court and provide your ticket and payment option. Call before you visit to get clarity on the payment options available if you pay in person.

If payment is by mail, mail your document to your county court. Call to get the address and inquire about what you must submit. It will prevent you from not paying your ticket on time and additional late fees.

Missouri Traffic Tickets & Violations

The Missouri DOR issues traffic tickets for different violations. The most common citations are given for moving violations. Moving violations can be careless driving or speeding. For someone to be cited for reckless driving, the offense could be:

  • Not yielding to a traffic sign
  • Not using a turn signal
  • Driving with a broken tail light
  • Tailgating
  • Speeding

The more severe violations will be:

  • Reckless driving
  • DUI/DWI of drugs or alcohol
  • Refusing to take a BAC test
  • Driving without insurance
  • Driving with a suspended or revoked license

The more severe violations will result with a license suspension, revoked or canceled. Also, additional fines, and alcohol and drug courses to take.

Missouri Traffic Tickets & Penalties

In Missouri, traffic tickets are associated with the MO DMV point system. Once you are convicted of a traffic offense, points get added to your driving records. The number of points will vary because of the type of violation. Less severe violations will result in fewer points. The more severe violations have a higher number of points. The more points you receive in a short time, the more likely your license gets suspended or revoked.

For instance, you receive 8 points in 18 months; your license gets suspended for 30 days. If you continue to accumulate points after traffic tickets convictions, the suspension time increase, however, your license could also be revoked. For it to happen, you must get more than 8 points and in a shorter time.

For your license to be revoked for a year, you must:

  • Get 12 points in a year
  • 18 points in 2 years
  • 24 points in 3 years

Other penalties will be surcharges that are added after a DUI/DWI conviction. Surcharges are fines that are paid in time. Most are in three years. Repeated offenders will likely pay higher surcharges after each offense to get back their MO driver’ license.

The court can also recommend driving courses to take. If you are given this to do, you will be responsible for the cost. Also, if you are required to install an ignition interlock device (IID), you must pay the cost and maintenance fee until the IID is removed.

Another offense that will lead to your license to be suspended is driving without insurance. Another offense is operating with a suspended or revoked license. If you are convicted of either offense, the suspension, revocation, or cancellation can be for years.

Missouri Traffic Tickets & Reinstatement

You can have your license reinstated. It may not be with full privilege, but even a restrictive permit allows you to drive. To get back to operate legally, you must complete the court’s requirements, pay the fines and reinstatement cost. Once the court agrees with you completing the requirements, you may get back to driving.