Missouri Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes

All Missouri drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind-the-wheel.

This article shares what insurance minimums you must carry. The article also covers the repercussions of not having it. And, provides MO insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in Missouri.

The Missouri Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums

Missouri requires the following required auto insurance coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $10,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident

Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.

Penalties for Driving without MO Insurance

Driving without insurance is a serious offense in the state of Missouri.

The fines and penalties depend on your actions when behind-the-wheel. You can expect anything from fees and loss of driving privileges to potential jail time.

Typical penalties for driving in Missouri without insurance include:

  • Fines up to $500
  • A $20 to $400 reinstatement fee
  • 4-points added to your MO driving record
  • Up to 15 days in jail
  • License suspension up to 1-year

First offenses count as a misdemeanor and carry a license, plate, and registration suspension until you prove you have insurance. Second and third offenses carry the heavier penalties including jail time, higher fines, and others listed in the bullet points.

You may appeal to have the fines and penalties reduced if you have insurance but failed to have proof of insurance during the traffic stop. Present your insurance information at your court date to have the ticket dismissed – though you may pay an administrative fee.

Missouri is strict about driving without insurance especially if a serious accident happens causing bodily injury or death. Fines can reach thousands of dollars and years of jail time if your actions were deemed negligent. The driver may also sue for personal or property damage!

Plus, you may be required to carry SR22 insurance up to 3-years after the accident.

Compare Quotes for Missouri Insurance Policies

Whether you just moved to Missouri or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind-the-wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.

Your intent may be finding cheap Missouri auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many MO car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums – this also applies to good students!