North Dakota Car Insurance Minimums, Laws, and Quotes

All North Dakota drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind-the-wheel unless they show fiscal responsibility. Insurance not only protects you when driving but others on the road. After all, you never know if an accident may happen!

The state requires 25/50/25 coverage.

This article shares what those insurance minimums are that you must carry. And, the repercussions of not having it. And, provides ND insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in North Dakota.

The North Dakota Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums

North Dakota requires the following required auto insurance coverage:

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage: $25,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Underinsured Motorist: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Basic Personal Injury Protection: $150/wk. at a $30,000 maximum

Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in North Dakota

The state of North Dakota has variable penalties if you’re found driving without insurance. This could include a hefty fine to jail time. A possible license and registration suspension may happen, too!

North Dakota may have variable levels of penalties starting with the first offense. Causing an offense within a year after the first can spur higher penalties.

Typical penalties for driving in North Dakota without insurance include:

  • Between $150 to $1,000 (1st offense) fine
  • Between $300 to $5,000 (multiple offense) fine
  • Loss of plates (with multiple offenses)
  • Loss of your license for variable times
  • Required SR22 insurance (for each offense)
  • Possible jail time
  • Higher insurance premiums
  • Registration reinstatement costs

You may receive these penalties when being stopped or through the states electronic monitoring. Failing to provide proof of insurance will result in an offense as it is a requirement in the state.

Being unable to provide proof of insurance when pulled over will result in a $150 to $1000 fine. You may also lose your license until you’ve proven insurance coverage. Though, these two may increase depending on the severity of your actions.

Repeat offenses can carry must heavier fines (up to $5000), jail time, and loss of driving privileges. Plus, you may pay extras if you were to cause an accident or cause serious bodily harm.

SR22 insurance may become a requirement, too.

Compare Quotes for North Dakota Insurance Policies

Whether you just moved to North Dakota or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind-the-wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.

Looking for a new North Dakota auto insurance policy? Check your local providers or use comparison shopping tools to get quotes from several parties.