Nebraska Provisional License: An Application Guide

Nebraska, like other states, uses a graduated licensing program. The GDL program helps teens/new drivers gain an understanding of the road rules through testing and practice.

There are three stages to the program:

  • Learners
  • Provisional
  • Unrestricted

Refer to our Nebraska Learner’s Permit Guide for details on how to begin the graduated licensing program. Else, follow along with the steps below to learn how you can upgrade the permit into a provisional license.

How to Get a Nebraska Intermediate License: Upgrading a Learner’s into a Provisional

The provisional license becomes available 60 days before turning 16 years old. Or, available to any first-time driver already 16 years old having held a permit.

Your requirements when upgrading to a provisional operator’s permit includes:

  • Held a permit up to 6 months
  • Has not incurred more than 3-points on their record (in the last 6 months)
  • Complete a driver safety course

… or the driver can complete the 50-hours of driving practice.

The state will waive the written test if you’ve taken a driver’s ed course. Otherwise, you will need to prepare through the behind-the-wheel experience portion required before upgrading.

Meet the requirements and then complete the following:

  1. Visit a local DMV
    1. Need to find one? See our Nebraska DMV directory
  2. Present a certificate of driver’s education completion, or:
    1. Waiver form, or
    2. School permit
  3. Submit your 50-Hour Certification form
  4. Pass the tests:
    1. Vision
    2. Written (waived if you’ve done driver’s ed)
    3. Driving (waived if you’ve done driver’s ed)
  5. Provide proof of ID & residency
  6. Pay the $17.50 licensing fee

Congratulations!

Given you’ve met the requirements, followed these steps, and paid your appropriate fees, you’ll now have upgraded a learner’s permit into a provisional license.

Provisional License Driving Restrictions in Nebraska

Your restrictions with a provisional include:

  • Unsupervised driving between 6 AM to 12 AM
  • Unsupervised driving to work/school between 12 AM and 6 AM

… and anytime driving if you’re accompanied by a licensed (21+) adult.

You’re expected to continue following driving rules and laws until you’re ready to apply for an unrestricted license.

Next: Applying for Your Adult (Unrestricted) License

You’ll hold this provisional for 1-year and until you’re 17 years old – or if you turn 18 – whichever comes first. You cannot incur more than 3-points on your driving record within 12 months before applying for the unrestricted license, either.

At this point, you can apply for your unrestricted license in person or online.

See our Guide to Nebraska Adult Licensing for a complete breakdown of how you’ll upgrade the provisional license.