How to Renew Your Car Registration in Nebraska
The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles oversees your vehicle’s registration renewal. You’ll need to complete the renewal to continue (legally) driving. Your expiration depends on when you had registered and is noted on the registration documents.
You should receive a renewal notice from the NE DMV before your vehicle’s expiration.
This notice shares the renewal date, vehicle information, and any applicable issues preventing you from renewing the vehicle. Check with your local DMV for registry details or by visiting their website if you haven’t received this notice.
Most drivers can renew your vehicle’s registration:
- By Mail
Failing to renew your car’s registration can result in penalties. Given your license isn’t suspended or you have other restrictions from completing it – use the sections below to complete the renewal steps.
Nebraska Car or Truck Registration Renewal: Step-by-Step
Your registration renewal method will vary, depending on what’s mentioned on the notice.
If you’ve lost your tags sometime between the renewal you can have it replaced. See our duplicate title guide for more information about this process if it’s a requirement for your renewal. You will also want minimum auto insurance when renewing to legally drive on state roads.
Here are the ways to renew your vehicle’s registration in Nebraska:
Renewing in-person is your option if the renewal notice doesn’t state you can do so otherwise. You will do an in-person renewal if removing a lienholder from the title, too.
Here is what you’ll do when renewing in-person:
- Go to your local NE DMV/tag office
- Present your NE driver’s license
- Submit the bottom portion of the renewal notice or registration
- Show proof of auto insurance or financial responsibility
- Pay your registration fees and property taxes
- Registration: $15
- Plate fee: $3.30 (for new, replacement, or duplicate)
- County fund: $1.50
- Recreation fund: $1.50
- DMV cash fund: $2.00
- EMS operation fund: $0.50
- Vehicle tax/fee: Varies
… plus, any extra county taxes depending on your location.
The clerk will process your information and complete the transaction. Congratulations, your vehicle is now good for another few years on the road!
Your notice will outline if you’re eligible to renew online though there are certain restrictions like:
- Must have current auto insurance (since the state does a bi-monthly check)
- Douglas County uses their own renewal portal: found here
- Certain vehicles (affixed license plates, tax-exempt status, farm/commercial) are ineligible
- Any vehicle with registration expired for more than 1 year
Here is how to renew your Nebraska car registration online:
- Visit the ClickDMV website
- Enter your information:
- Renewal notice, or
- Current registration info
- Follow the on-screen prompts
- Pay your renewal fees
- Print the confirmation page
You’ll receive your new registration to the address you have on file in the mail in about 5 – 7 business days. Check with your local DMV if it’s been longer than a week since your renewal.
Renewing by Mail
Mail-in renewals are the same as going to the DMV. You’ll submit the same information but mail it to the treasury office listed on your renewal form. This process shouldn’t take long but do expect an extra week or two for your documents.
Congratulations, You’re Done!
You’ve completed the NE vehicle registration renewal.
Keep track of your expiration date by writing it on your calendar. Otherwise, keep an eye out for the next time a renewal notice comes your way. Forgoing renewal can land you in trouble with fines and penalties so don’t let this lapse – happy driving!