New Hampshire License Renewal
The Division of Motor Vehicles oversees the New Hampshire license renewal process.
The state sends a renewal notice about 2 months before the license expiration date. You can renew your New Hampshire license up to 6 months before its expiration. Failing to renew your license on-time may result in penalties and loss of driving privileges (beyond the red expiration date).
New Hampshire license renewals are available via:
The following sections share the step-by-step process to renew your NH driver’s license.
How to Renew Your NH Driver’s License
A valid NH driver’s license is required if you drive on state roads and highways. New Hampshire auto insurance is a requirement, too, if you plan to operate your vehicle. The renewal process doesn’t take long if you have documents ready and follow the steps below.
You will do the following to renew in-person:
- Go to an NH DMV location
- Present your NH driver’s license
- Alternative #1: Photo ID (on file)
- Alternative #2: Accepted identifying document
- Submit an Application for Driver License or Non-Driver ID Card (DSMV450)
- Pass your vision test
- Get a photo taken
- Pay the $50 license renewal fee
Congratulations! You’ve successfully renewed your New Hampshire driver’s license. You’ll receive a temporary license until the permanent one arrives by mail in about 60 days.
Temporary residents will complete these same steps at the Concord DMV office. Drivers will bring their license, visa or work employment card, file the application, and pay the renewal fees.
You can process a REAL ID when renewing, too. This involves bringing a couple extra documents proving your ID, SSN, residency, and legal presence.
Did you receive a renewal notice with a 10-digit PIN? You’re can renew online!
- Visit the NH online renewal portal
- Input your driver’s license number
- Follow the on-screen prompts
- Pay your $50 renewal fee
- Print your temporary license
Your license photo will be the same as you have on file. You should receive your new, permanent license within 60 days of completing the online renewal process.
Become a Better New Hampshire Driver
Looking for more information and guides to become a better New Hampshire driver? Check out our NH DMV topics, browse our DMV directory, or get active in the community!