New Jersey Car Insurance Minimums, Laws, and Quotes
All New Jersey drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind-the-wheel unless they show fiscal responsibility. Insurance not only protects you when driving but others on the road. After all, you never know if an accident may happen!
This article shares what those insurance minimums are that you must carry. And, the repercussions of not having it. And, provides NJ insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in New Jersey.
The New Jersey Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums
New Jersey requires the following required auto insurance coverage:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $5,000 per accident
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $15,000 minimum
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage: $5,000 per accident with $500 deductible
Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in New Jersey
The state of New Jersey has variable penalties if you’re found driving without insurance. This could include a hefty fine to jail time. A possible license and registration suspension may happen, too!
Typical penalties for driving in New Jersey without insurance include:
- Up to $5,000 in fines
- Up to $750 in surcharges ($250 each year)
- License suspension for 1 to 2 years
- The possibility of permanent license suspension
- Possible community service (up to 180 hours)
- Up to 14 days of jail time
- Required SR22 insurance
- Higher insurance premiums
- Registration reinstatement costs
Generally, a first offense involving driving without insurance will result in fines and possible community service. You may also be expected to pay DMV surcharges and your license may get suspended. Failing to do your community service can also result in a license suspension.
Subsequent offenses may result in fines up to $5,000, mandatory jail time, community service, and an extended license suspension. Not to mention: You may need to pay vehicle impounds fees.
Causing accidents or serious injury can further increase penalties and consequences!
The DMV also has the privilege of deciding if your license is renewed if you’ve violated carrying your insurance multiple times. They may even deny your license permanently if they deem you troublesome!
Compare Quotes for New Jersey Insurance Policies
Whether you just moved to New Jersey or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind-the-wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.
Your intent may be finding cheap New Jersey auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many NJ car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums.
Check to ensure you’re given the best coverage else shop for new coverage by comparing insurers!