How to Reinstate a Suspended New Jersey License
A suspended license means you’ve lost your privileges to drive in the state of New Jersey. Those that choose to drive on a suspended license could lead to serious punishments. Your punishment could include longer suspensions, fines, and even jail time.
Driving with a suspended license can turn into a 5-year jail sentence!
Usual reasons your NJ license was suspended includes accumulating too many points on your record, reckless or drunken driving, failing to have insurance while operating a vehicle, and others. These are all very serious items you shouldn’t take lightly.
Continual suspensions (3 or more) can lead to a revocation of your license.
Follow this guide to learn how to get your suspended license reinstated in the state of New Jersey.
Why Your License (Probably) Got Suspended
Getting too many points on your record is the typical reason why many get their license suspended in New Jersey. Other common occurrences include driving without insurance or reckless endangerment.
Driving while intoxicated is an automatic suspension.
Other reasons could include:
- Moving violations
- Failure to appear in court
- Failure to pay fines
- Failure to yield to pedestrians
- Slow speed (blocking traffic)
…and dozens more.
You can slow the suspension proceedings by taking a driver improvement course. These courses remove up to points from your record if you remain violation and suspension-free for one year.
Don’t understand why your license was suspended? Check the NJ MVC website or give them a call to get the full details.
My License is Suspended, Now What?
The obvious answer: avoid any driving with a suspended or revoked license.
You will need to wait for the duration of the suspension/revocation and pay fines before a license is reinstated. Plus, New Jersey requires a $100 payment to restore any license suspended or revoked because of the law or regulation.
Suspensions last a few months to many years:
- 1st offense: 45 – 90 days
- 2nd offense: 90 – 180 days
The duration of the suspension depends on how close you violate driving privileges to the prior occurrence. Violations within 6-months hold the heaviest consequences. DUI arrests are an instant license suspension under New Jersey state law.
DUI offenses are server depending on your BAC (0.08% or higher), prior convictions, and if the law finds other problems with your activities. You may face fines, community service, jail, and more!
Reinstating a Suspended License in New Jersey
Reinstating a suspended license may include:
- Submitting proof of insurance
- Paying all outstanding traffic tickets
- Pleading or pay traffic violation tickets
- Paying and catching-up on child support payments
- Paying mandatory files and jail time for DUI
- Retaking a traffic course or DUI program
You will better understand your requirements by talking to a DMV official.
What you’ll typically do when reinstating a license:
- Contact the NJ MVC
- Online at the eMVC website
- Full-Service motor vehicle agency
- By mail (see below)
- File the renewal with the # on your notice
- Alternative: Your driver’s license number
- Pay any necessary fees including
Mail options are available by sending documents and payment to:
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
P.O. Box 140
Trenton, NJ 08650-0140
A Notice of Restoration is sent to you by mail if you clear all documents, payments, and eligibility.
Those eligible for a restoration will have a mandatory 1-year probation period if the suspension was the result of points violations or being a persistent violator. The driver will need to complete a Probationary Driver Program or Drive Improvement Program – any further violations cause extra suspension terms.