New Mexico Car Insurance Minimums, Laws, and Quotes

Reading Time: 2 minutes

All New Mexico drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind-the-wheel.

This article shares what insurance minimums you must carry. The article also covers the repercussions of not having it. And, provides NM insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in New Mexico.

The New Mexico Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums

New Mexico requires the following required auto insurance coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability: $10,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage: $10,000 per accident

Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs. Some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in New Mexico

The state of New Mexico has variable penalties if you’re found driving without insurance. This could include a hefty fine to jail time. A possible license and registration suspension may happen, too!

Typical penalties for driving in New Mexico without insurance include:

  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • Up to 6 months of imprisonment
  • Variable registration suspension periods
  • Required SR22 insurance
  • Higher insurance premiums
  • Registration reinstatement costs

You may receive these penalties when being stopped or through the states electronic monitoring. Failing to provide proof of insurance will result in an offense. Subsequent offenses carry heavier fines, fees, and possible jail time for your actions.


If you’re involved in an accident – by your fault or not – you may be requested to prove insurance coverage. Found without it? You’ll have your license taken but will receive a temporary sticker good for 30 days until you provide proof with the MVD.

New Mexico checks insurance periodically using their online system. Therefore, you could be found without it at any time to which you’ll face possible fines and penalties. You may pay extra fees when filing to reinstate your NM license after its suspension or revocation, too.

Compare Quotes for New Mexico Insurance Policies

Whether you just moved to New Mexico or you’re a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind-the-wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.

Your intent may be finding cheap New Mexico auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many NM car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums.

Check to ensure you’re given the best coverage else shop for new coverage by comparing insurers!