New Mexico Registration Renewal: Step-by-Step

automatic fails on driving test
Reading Time: 2 minutes

The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) oversees your vehicle’s registration renewal.

You’ll receive a renewal notice before your vehicle’s expiration by mail. If you didn’t receive a notice, contact your local MVD office. Failing to renew by the vehicle’s expiration date can result in additional penalties.

You can renew your New Mexico vehicle registration:

  • In-person
  • Online
  • By Phone
  • By Mail

You may check the status of your license by requesting driver records to see if there are any issues with your vehicle. Given you don’t have restrictions, follow along to complete the renewal process.

New Mexico Car or Truck Registration Renewal: Step-by-Step

To renew your vehicle’s registration in New Mexico, all you’ll need to do is take a trip down to your local NM DMV. Or, use their online system, phone, or mail-in option.

Do you live in Bernalillo County? If so, you may need to get an emissions test before renewal. This must happen every 2 years or when it changes ownership.

Is your vehicle currently out of state? You are required to get it tested. You may submit an Affidavit of Vehicle Unavailability of Inspection and your payment if testing isn’t available in your area. You will send the document and payment to the address listed on the form.

In-Person Registration Renewal

Do the following if you want to handle the renewal in-person:

  1. Visit an NM DMV
  2. Provide your information:
    1. Option #1: Renewal notice
    2. Option #2: Vehicle information
  3. Pay your renewal fees

Congratulations, you’ve completed the process!

Online Registration Renewal

Want to save a trip to the MVD? Renewing online involves doing the following:

  1. Visit the NM renewal portal
  2. Enter your information
    1. Option #1: Control number on the renewal notice
    2. Option #2: Plate # and VIN, vehicle model year, owner name
  3. Pay your renewal fees

You should receive your new documents in the mail a few days/weeks after it’s processed.

Mail-in Registration Renewal

Renewing by mail involves:

  1. Verifying your renewal notice’s information
  2. Including a payment to the NM MVD
  3. Sending the documents

The document goes to:

Registration Renewal Section

Motor Vehicle Division

P.O. Box 25129

Santa Fe, NM 87504-5129

Phone-in Registration Renewal

Want to renew by phone? You will:

  1. Call 888-683-4636
  2. Enter your plate # or control #
  3. Pay the renewal fees

New Mexico Registration Renewal Fees and Taxes

Typical 1-year renewal fees include:

  • Vehicle renewal: $27 to $62
  • Admin fee: $2
  • Mandatory Financial Responsibility Act fee: $2/year
  • Highway fee: $2.50
  • Tire recycling fee: $1.50

Typical 2-year renewal fees include:

  • Vehicle renewal: $54 to $124
  • Admin fee: $2
  • Mandatory Financial Responsibility Act fee: $2/year
  • Highway fee: $2.50
  • Tire recycling fee: $1.50

Note: Online and phone-in renewals will save you 5% on these fees.

Visit the NM MVD fee calculator to get a complete breakdown of what you may pay when renewing.

Congratulations, You’re Done!

You’ve completed the New Mexico car registration renewal. Congratulations!

Keep track of your expiry date for when it comes time to renew again. Continue practicing safe driving, respect the rules of the roads, and be nice to one another. Happy driving out there in New Mexico!