New York DUI Laws, Limits, and Penalties

Reading Time: 2 minutes

There are some things you should know if you’re ever thinking of driving in New York. Some of the strictest DUI laws in the country are found here, and penalties for convicted offenders can be severe. In this post, we’ll take a look at what those laws are, as well as the potential consequences of breaking them. So if you’re planning on driving in New York, or are even just curious about how the law works here.

New York State DWI Laws

New York State DWI laws are some of the toughest in the nation. Under state law, it is illegal to drive while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Anyone caught driving with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher can be charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI).

What’s more, those convicted of a DWI charge may face criminal penalties including fines, points, jail time, and license suspension. For repeat offenders, even tougher punishments may await including mandatory ignition interlock devices and enhanced DUI/DWI laws which feature increased fines and longer license suspensions.

Needless to say, driving while intoxicated should always be avoided to prevent any potential legal issues from occurring.

By following New York State laws and guidelines, drivers can avoid any potential complications associated with harsh DWI charges.

How to Get Your DWI Dismissed?

DWI charges can be a serious issue, and not just because of the possible fines or jail time. DWI convictions can have long-term consequences, including the loss of your driver’s license and potential long-term insurance rate increases.

Luckily, it may be possible to have DWI charges dismissed in New York if presented with the right set of facts. First, it’s essential to hire a DWI lawyer experienced in DWI law who has had success getting cases dismissed within your jurisdiction.

Your DWI attorney will investigate the case and explore options to have DWI charges dismissed that may include contesting the initial DWI stop, challenging the sobriety test results, and questioning other forms of evidence collected by police or prosecutors.

Because DWI laws change often, you want a DWI attorney with up-to-date knowledge about New York DWI regulations and court proceedings in your specific county. With their assistance, it may be possible to keep your record clean from DWIs and go on leading a fulfilling life without the added burden of a DWI conviction.

New York DUI laws are some of the toughest in the country. If you are caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher, you will be charged with drunk driving. The penalties for a DUI in New York are severe and can include up to a year in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, and a mandatory license suspension.

If you are facing charges of driving under the influence, it is important to speak to an experienced attorney who can help you navigate the legal system and fight for your rights.