How to Request Your New Jersey Driving Records
A driving record can be used for multiple purposes, so to get a copy you must contact the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. The driving record is a detailed history of the person for who the request was put in. What is usually in a person’s driving record is information about past accidents, violations, suspensions, fees paid.
Who Would Request NJ Driving Records
Different entities can request NJ driving records. The information can be used by insurance companies, law enforcement agencies, courts, attorneys, or prospective employers. If you want a copy for yourself, you can request one as well. Once all the necessary documents and fees are submitted, the NJ MVC will provide the documents.
Types of NJ Driving Records
The NJ MVC offers three types of driving records.The types will be provided in different forms. Here are the three types you can get from the MVC:
- Non-certified driving records
- It can be viewed online only
- It is not considered an official copy
- Certified5-year driving records
- A certified copy is acceptable by insurance companies
- A background check by employers
- Certified complete driving records
- Accepted by courts
- Law Enforcement Agencies
How to Obtain NJ Driving Records
To get NJ driving records, contact the NJ MVC in person, by mail, or online and request a copy. During the process, you must provide the required documents and pay the cost associated with the option you select.
Insurance Companies, Law Enforcement, and Employers
Order by Mail
- Complete Form DO-21, Application for Driver History Abstract
- Copy of your driver’s license
- Check or money order payable to NJ MVC for $15
Mail the documents to:
NJ Motor Vehicle Commission
225 East State Street
P.O. Box 142
You must first create an account on the NJ DMV website. Your account will include a username and password. Once you complete this part, you may log unto My MVC website and enter your:
- User name and password
- NJ driver’s license number
- Last four digits of your SSN
- Select the type of driving records you need
- Pay the $15 fee by credit or debit card
Keep in mind if you select non-certified copy, you can view the information only. Otherwise,select the certified 5-year driving records.
Order a Copy for Yourself
You may order a copy for yourself in person. Visit a nearby NY DMV and provide a completed Form DO-21,NJ driver’s license or another form of ID, and pay the $15 fee.