North Carolina Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes
If you’re a driver in North Carolina, there are specific car insurance requirements you must know about. Knowing the laws and the various types of policies available can help you save money while providing the right coverage for your vehicle. In addition to understanding North Carolina auto insurance regulations, comparing quotes from different companies to get the best rate available is essential. This blog post will provide an overview of North Carolina car insurance requirements, laws, and tips on how to find affordable quotes for your vehicle.
All North Carolina drivers must carry auto insurance if they get behind the wheel.
This article shares what insurance minimums you must carry. The report also covers the repercussions of not having it. And provides NC insurance quotes if you’re shopping for coverage in North Carolina.
The North Carolina Car Insurance Requirements and Minimums
North Carolina requires the following required auto insurance coverage:
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $30,000 per person / $60,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability Coverage: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $30,000 per person / $60,000 per accident
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Property Damage: $25,000
Your final insurance needs will depend on your driving abilities, history, and needs—some vehicles, like when leasing, may require collision and compressive coverage.
What are the Penalties for Driving without Insurance in North Carolina?
Driving without insurance is a serious offense in the state of North Carolina. The fines and penalties depend on your actions when behind the wheel. You can expect anything from fees and loss of driving privileges to potential jail time.
You will lose your license for 30 days if caught driving without insurance.
You will also incur penalties like:
- First offenses carry a $50 civil liability and $50 reinstatement fee, plus a 30-day license suspension and possible probation
- Second offenses carry a $100 civil liability and $50 reinstatement fee, 30-day suspension, and jail time up to 45 days
- Third offenses carry a $150 civil liability and $50 reinstatement fee, 30-day suspension, and jail time up to 45 days
You do have a grace period with your lapse insurance.
You can file an FS 5-7 Notice within ten days of ticketing to prove your insurance coverage or recertify your renewed policy coverage. Failing to do so results in the later repercussions with the ticket (i.e., suspension and possible jail time).
North Carolina is strict about driving without insurance, especially if a severe accident happens, causing bodily injury or death. Fines could reach thousands of dollars and years of jail time if your actions were deemed negligent. The driver may also sue for personal or property damage!
Compare Quotes for North Carolina Insurance Policies
Whether you just moved to North Carolina or are a resident, you need auto insurance if you’re getting behind the wheel and on state roads and highways. The insurance helps protect you from uninsured motorists while providing if you’re the one at fault.
Your intent may be finding cheap North Carolina auto insurance to cover the state’s minimums. You may decide to upgrade your insurance policy once you’re driving. Many NC car insurance companies offer good driver discounts lowering their premiums – this also applies to good students!