North Dakota Registration
A North Dakota car registration requires you file and submit a few different forms and fees depending on the type of vehicle. This must take place as soon as you can after the vehicle’s purchase or the start of your lease (if the dealer doesn’t provide the registration on your behalf).
You must register your vehicle unless you’re currently residing outside the state. If working in the state, you can apply for a temporary registration during your stay.
Your main registration tasks include satisfying:
- Proof of identification
- Registration/Title application
- Vehicle testing
- Taxes and fees
…plus, any applicable vehicle testing and disclosures.
You will register your vehicle at a North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) office. Failing to register on-time can result in potential issues if your driving privileges.
We’ve outlined the North Dakota registration process, keeping it as easy-as-possible.
Your North Dakota Vehicle Registration Guide: Step-by-Step
Getting your vehicle on the road in North Dakota doesn’t take long if you have the paperwork and payment ready. The trip to your NDDOT office should take less than an hour (give or take).
How is the registration process done? Check the section that applies to you.
Registering a Vehicle from Private Parties
To register your vehicle’s title/registration in North Dakota you will:
- Visit your local ND DMV/treasurer office
- Show proof of ID:
- North Dakota driver’s license
- ID card
- Legal identity document
- Submit the Application for Certificate of Title & Registration of a Vehicle (SFN 2872)
- New vehicles must include a certificate or origin and odometer disclosure
- Submit the signed vehicle title
- Don’t have it? Include the name/address of the lienholder, or loan account #, or out-of-state registration, or proof of the 5% excise tax
- Submit proof of having paid the 5% excise tax
- Pay your registration fees and taxes
You’ll receive your registration documents and be on your way.
Congratulations, you’ve completed the vehicle registration process in North Dakota! Make sure to get North Dakota auto insurance before getting on the road else you can face serious fines and penalties!
Special Note: Vehicles titled in Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, Oregon, or Canada are charged the excise tax based on its value.
Are you bringing a car from out-of-state? You will either:
- In-state registration: Complete the vehicle registration as noted above
- Temporary: Go to the DMV, submit your out-of-state vehicle documents, and pay your $60 (6mo) or $120 (1yr) fees – or complete the temp registration online and print the document
You’re now free to drive in the state (or the duration of your temporary, non-transferable registration).
Registering a Vehicle from Dealerships
Dealers typically submit the paperwork on your behalf. This often includes the title’s paperwork and all fees associated with the registration. However, you should check before you drive off the lot. If they don’t, get your paperwork and file the registration using the ‘private parties’ steps above.
North Dakota Vehicle Registration Fees
Your typical fees when registering a vehicle in ND depend on the vehicle:
- Annual mileage
Check the North Dakota DOT passenger vehicle fees for a breakdown of what you can expect to pay.
Set a Reminder for Vehicle’s Registration Renewal
Make sure to note how long you’re registering the vehicle and the day. You won’t want to forget renewing when it comes around else you could face fines!
See our ND registration renewal guide when you’re ready.
Congratulations! You’ve registered your vehicle in the state of North Dakota. Practice safe driving on the roads, be nice to others, and you’ll have a wonderful time on the open roads!