How to Renew Your Car Registration in Nevada
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles oversees your vehicle’s registration renewal. You’ll need to complete a renewal to continue driving. Your expiration depends on when you had registered and is noted on the registration documents.
You should receive a renewal notice from the NV DMV before your vehicle’s expiration. Or, make note of its expiration which happens yearly within the month that it was registered. You can check with your local DMV for registry details or by visiting their website.
You can renew your vehicle’s registration:
- By Mail
- Via Kiosk
Failing to renew your car’s registration can result in penalties. Given your license isn’t suspended or you have other restrictions from completing it – use the sections below to complete the renewal steps.
Nevada Registration Renewal: Step-by-Step
Below, you’ll learn the various ways you can process the Nevada car registration renewal. Each method shouldn’t take long if you have documents ready and meet all requirements.
All vehicles must pass an emissions test before renewal.
You’ll have up to 90 days to process your renewal after completing the emission test. If you fail the test, you’ll need to make repairs and re-do the test before completing the renewal.
You can renew your vehicle’s registration at a DMV, kiosk (see below), or emissions station. We recommend the DMV if you need to complete other transactions in the process.
Here is what you’ll do when renewing in-person:
- Present your NV driver’s license
- Show your Insurance Card
- Pay the renewal fees
The DMV workers will find your information in their database to process the renewal. You may bring registration documents with you in case you feel they’re needed.
There are a few restrictions with online renewal – like:
- You haven’t updated your address with the DMV
- An emissions inspection is required
- Your license is suspended/revoked
The renewal notice shares information about doing an online renewal and eligibility.
Given you pass the requirements and have documents ready:
- Visit Nevada’s MyDMV
- Enter your vehicle details:
- Renewal code, or:
- License plate # and last 4-digits of the VIN
- Follow the on-screen prompts
- Pay the registration renewal fees
- Or: Submit tax exemptions before processing
- Print the confirmation
You should receive your certificate and detail by mail in a short while.
Renewing by Mail
Mail-in renewal is slower but provides a good alternative if you can’t get online. Or, if you rather avoid going to a DMV location. The process is basically the same as renewing in-person but lets you change your address, claim tax exemptions, or renew if you’re in the military or out-of-state.
- Gather your renewal notice
- Provide proof of applicable emissions inspection
- Include a check or money order for fees (see below)
Mail your information to the address below:
Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
Registration Renewal by Mail
P.O. Box 6900.
Carson City, NV 89702
You should receive your new registration documents in a week or two.
Renewing via Kiosks
Kiosks are available throughout certain areas of the state. When there, you will input your access code or last 4-digits of the VIN. You must pass a smog test before completing the renewal if applicable.
Find a kiosk near you: Nevada Kiosk Directory.
Nevada Vehicle Registration Fees and Taxes
Renewal fees are about the same as your registration fees – including:
- Passenger vehicle: $33
- Motorcycle: $33
- Low-speed Vehicles: $10
- Less than 6,000lbs: $33
- Max Fee: $1,360
The tax rate depends on:
Ultimately, it’s best to talk with a local DMV representative to get your finalized fees. You may have exemptions depending on your persons and residency. Plus, your total fees may change depending on how many items you need to be processed when registering.
Congratulations, You’re Done!
You’ve completed the NV vehicle registration renewal.
Keep track of your expiration date by writing it on your calendar. Otherwise, keep an eye out for the next time a renewal notice comes your way. Forgoing renewal can land you in trouble with fines and penalties so don’t let this lapse else you may need to follow our suspended license guide!
And, as always, continue practicing safe driving.