Ohio Car Insurance Requirements, Laws, and Quotes
In Ohio, it is the law to have car insurance, and you are financially responsible for any costs you may incur from incidents involving your vehicle. Below we provide a breakdown of Ohio car insurance’s basic requirements, laws, and rates.
Basic insurance requirements: Ohio has a mandatory minimum liability insurance policy. This means motorists must have at least Bodily Injury coverage of $25,000/$50,000 and Property Damage coverage of $15,000.
What is the Liability Coverage in Ohia?
In Ohio, you must have liability coverage that meets the following minimum limits: $25,000 for injury or death to any one individual, $50,000 for injury or death to multiple people in an accident and $25,000 for damage to property. You must also carry uninsured motorist coverage with minimum limits of $25,000 for injuries per person, $50,000 for injuries per accident and $25,000 for property damage.
Ohio also requires that you have uninsured motorist property coverage with minimum limits of $100,000 per accident. This coverage pays for damage to your car if it’s hit by an uninsured driver.
Ohio Car Insurance Requirements
In Ohio, the most popular way to comply with Ohio’s law is by purchasing liability insurance. This type of insurance provides coverage to pay for any damages or injuries caused during an incident. However, liability insurance must have these minimum limits:
- $25,000 for injuries or death per person
- $50,000 total for injuries or death to 2 people or more in any one accident
- $25,000 for property damage
Other Ohio Insurance Options
Ohio only requires you to have liability insurance, but there are other insurances available to provide better and safer coverage options, especially if you have a family. Below is a breakdown of other insurance options:
- Collision insurance which covers damages caused by crashes and fender benders
- Comprehensive insurance which covers damages caused by non-accident incidents like theft or vandalism
- Uninsured/underinsured drivers who are insurance that protects against such drivers
- Towing and labor is in case your vehicle breaks down and will need towing and repair assistance
Ohio Proof of Insurance
Once you obtain the best insurance for you and have registered your car in Ohio, you must submit a signed statement saying that you have and will continue to have Ohio proof of insurance while driving. You are expected to have your Ohio proof of insurance on you in case you’re involved in a car accident, pulled over by a cop, or when randomly selected by the BMV.
Violation Fines and Penalties
If you’re caught without insurance, expect a series of penalties and fines to follow. Below is a breakdown of penalties Ohio enforces:
- Loss of driving privileges (can be reinstated with a fee)
- Suspension of plates and registration
- The requirement to file SR-22 (expensive insurance filed by your insurance carrier ensuring that you will remain insured for a specific time period)
Ohio Car Insurance Quotes
When looking for the best car insurance rate in Ohio, it is best to shop around. Also, determining your car insurance premium is based on the following factors:
- Type of vehicle
- Year of vehicle
- Driving record
- Credit history
- Deductible (the higher the deductible, the lower the premium cost)
It is important to keep a clean driving record to ensure the best-priced and most affordable premium for your car insurance and wallet!
Finding the best car insurance rate in Ohio requires researching the different options and finding one that fits your needs. Shop around, compare rates, look at deductibles, and don’t forget to check out discounts! With a little bit of preparation, you can save money on your car insurance premiums in Ohio. Good luck!.