How to Get an Ohio Learner’s Permit?
Ohio teen drivers can begin getting a driver’s license at age 15 ½. The process begins with a learner’s permit helping teens understand and respect the rules of the road. Teens must apply and pass the Ohio learner’s permit requirements before getting on the road. This includes taking a driver’s education course. Plus, passing a vision and written DMV test.
This post shares the steps required to get their learner’s permit.
Get an Ohio Learner’s Permit
Ohio requires drivers to apply in person at a local Ohio BMV office.
Your OH permit requirements include the following:
- Be at least 15 1/2 years old
- Proof of ID and US/OH residency
- Birth Certificate
- S. Passport
- Social Security Card
- Court Order
- Bank Statement
- Pass the written DMV test and vision test
When applying, a legal adult or guardian must accompany you to the OH BMV office. Call the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles at 844-644-6268 if you have specific questions about your eligibility.
Driver Education Courses
You should explore taking a driver’s education course when holding a learner’s permit. You must provide proof of the course when applying for a provisional license. The earlier you take one, the better you’ll understand the roads and get behind-the-wheel experience.
Driver’s ed provides a wealth of knowledge and understanding of driving rules & laws. Plus, it may provide real-world experience driving if you cannot gain behind-the-wheel experience with an adult.
Application for an Ohio learner’s permit requires you to take a written test. This is a multiple choice to test your ability to recognize road signs and rules of the road. You’ll test questions about vehicle regulations and traffic signs. Get 75% of the 40 questions right, and you’re ready!
We recommend taking an Ohio driving practice test to improve your passing chances.
What Happens at the OH BMV
Bring all the following:
- Proof of ID
- Proof of residency
At the DMV, teens will need to:
- Pass the written test
- Pay the DMV application fee
- Take a vision screening
- Receive the learner’s permit
Teen drivers will pay a $22 learner’s permit application fee.
Congratulations! You’ve got a learner’s permit in Ohio!
Getting Behind-the-Wheel Experience
Teens can drive with a licensed driver, parent, or guardian. This behind-the-wheel experience should include 50 hours of driving (with at least 10 hours at night). Failing to show driving responsibility may forfeit your ability to get a license.
You will submit a Fifty-Hour Affidavit when applying for a provisional license (BMV 5791). Be sure to keep a log whenever you can!
Getting Your Provisional Driver’s License
First-time drivers showing responsibility behind the wheel and having held their permit for at least six months may on to their provisional license. This intermediate license gives more driving freedom and flexibility. Getting on requires a new application and further testing at your local OH BMV.
Ready for the next step? Click to go to our Ohio Provisional (Teen) License Guide.
The Ohio BMV demands young drivers to prove their driving capabilities before they can secure a license. Being familiar with and following the requirements is essential for anyone hoping to get their provisional or regular driver’s license. Keep track of your hours on the road, take the tests seriously, and keep a log when you can! With dedication and determination, you’ll be driving on your own in no time. Good luck!